We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic sandwich shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hat

The Hat
Ranked #4 of 172 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Classic sandwich shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We like to stop at the Hat because they seem to have maintained their quality over the years. They are one of southern Cals best sandwich shops. In my opinion they do not make the best pastrami I have ever had but it is pretty good and it will fill you up. To me the best item on the menu is the turkey and avocado sandwich. I get it with pickles and extra tomato and I am always very satisfied . My other suggestion is the chili cheese fries. They are enormous. You can feed three people with one order. The Hat is a must stop if you are in Monterey Park. Parking is very limited so try to visit during off peak hours.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“its good clean food. friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

not enough food
for the price. parking is tuff especially on weekend nights. they are fast,friendly,profession. overall pretty good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like pastrami!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you like pastrami, you will enjoy the sandwich served here. They give a very decent amount of meat. Sometimes the roll was a little hard but I always ask for it to be dipped. There is a little bit of a wait especially at lunch time. Service though is usually quick. Staff is not the friendliest. Price is good for what you get. I use to go once a week when I worked in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best pastrami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place has the best pastrami and you must try the wet fries as well. The place only has outside sitting so be aware. There is usually parking space in the back but sometimes it gets full really fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Pastrami Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went twice in two days. I ordered the pastrami sandwich both times. The sandwich was so large that I couldn't even touch the fries. The restaurant is clean and the service was fast, especially considering how many people was in the restaurant. We surprisingly found a table on both trips. Well worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dadof2girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hat also viewed

 
Monterey Park, CA
 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to The Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing