We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sssaaaaa”
Review of Shakas

Shakas
Ranked #19 of 179 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sssaaaaa”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

That means in my language it was very good. A little empty but it can do. If only it has good stuff that will make it the best

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Shaved Ice is the best thing on a hot summer day.”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I like the feeling of the place. It used to be one of my favorite places to grab a quick bite, until I had to cut down on the carbs... - it's a Hawaiian place - they serve rice. It's food I grew up with, and it's tasty and filling, but I'm tottering into old age and have to watch the carbs and blood sugar. I still think that the shaved Hawaiian ice is the best thing going on a hot summer day here in the San Gabriel Valley. This place has quality "comfort" food at a solid bargin cost.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RangerBobN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian Food”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Love the curry and macaroni salad. My daughter loves the spam musubi. My other daughter loves the chicken katsu and shaved ice. They also have a chopped cabbage salad, I love that too. Atmosphere is nice. Parking is public parking a lil further down but we always find a space.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Valerie2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food Hawaiian Food in SoCal”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Shakas is unassuming, sitting in a strip mall in Monterey Park. Parking can be challenging, since there are more patrons for the mall than spaces, but there is street parking as well. Walking into Shakas, though, and you'll realize that you're in a better place than Ono's or L&L. It's clean, has plenty of tables, and has a flat screen or two to watch the latest game. The Spam can wall may seem concerning, unless you've been to Hawaii and realize that Spam musubi's are a part of the modern culinary culture. The decor is comfortable -- nothing fancy, but seems Hawaiian flavored enough.

But it's really all about the food. And the food does not disappoint. There are plenty of choices, and several entrees are combined into plates. the Shaka plate offers a lot of food -- Chinese Chicken salad (excellent), macaroni salad, teriyaki beef (great), sesame chicken (yum), rice and a spam musubi (you need to try it at least once). It's less than $10 and can probably feed two. Top it off with a towering shaved ice and you have a meal. There are plenty of other plates offering different combos. I personally recommend the following entrees: Kalbi Beef ribs (smokey, rich, tasty), mochiko chicken (fried, sweet, tasty), kualua pork (salty, smokey, delicious). But everything I've tried (and we've eaten there a lot of times) is delicious.
It's not the cheapest -- L&L and Ono's are cheaper, but you can truly taste the difference. Don't come expecting spicy food, and if you don't like hanging around kids, this may not be your place as this is a restaurant of choice for many youth basketball teams after games or practice. Come for the food, though. This may not be Hawaii. but for fast food, it's as close as you can get in California.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEricJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Food at its best”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Hard to find good Hawaiian food, however this place has got it
Must try the Loco Moco Plate!!! Kalahua pork
If you never tried it a must try, cant forget about the macaroni salad that comes with the meals

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faatgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakas also viewed

 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to Shakas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing