We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Old Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Price, Old Place!”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

This hotel was a great value considering the surroundings. It is a little drive from downtown Monterey. The rooms were very spacious but outdated. The brown tile in the bathrooms and mint green curtains brought me back to the 80's. We were on the bottom floor and stayed awake most of the night because the people above us kept stomping around (thin floors, haha). The door had to be pulled shut, which I suppose is better than those hotels were the door slams shut waking everyone up. Breakfast was nice: basic continental, but they had a waffle iron that you get to use to make your own waffles (that was fun!!!).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ocshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    76
    26
    8
    11
See reviews for
48
52
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Comfort Inn.

Ok for a couple of nights stay. Small comfortable family run motel. Rooms clean, but could do with a bit of a face lift.

Please note there is no AC in any of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We were on a 10-day vacation driving from Napa valley to San Diego on Hwy 1. We planned on stopping in Monterey/Carmel for three nights. However, our first night fell on a holiday weekend and all the inns in Carmel were either booked or over $200. So, we reluctantly booked one night in Comfort Inn (for $150). What a surprise! There is a reason why this hotel was ranked #2 in Monterey on Tripadvisor: as another reviewer pointed out, it looks more like a boutique hotel than a Comfort Inn. It is on a quiet corner of Monterey (next to the airport but we never heard the planes).

Rooms are clean and fresh. The bathroom is fairly standard. Each room has a microwave and a mini-fridge. Both looked new. The hotel provides free wi-fi: something that the 4* nickel-and dime-ing hotels should learn from. The breakfast is standard continental fare.

The hotel front desk is very helpful: they will give you coupons for the whale-watching trips in Monterey (something we strongly recommend) and other attractions.

One issue we had with this hotel and the other place we stayed in Monterey/Carmel: no A/C. This seems fairly common to many other hotels in this area. The weather here is quite pleasant and usually falls below 60F in the night, but we had to prop a window open (which btw told us how clean the hotel was: there were no cob-webs etc. near the windows) to cool the room. Not a a big deal, but something you may want to keep in mind.

Also, there was no fitness room in the hotel.

There is a restaurant (a steakhouse) on the property but we never tried it.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet, Friendly hotel staff, Beautiful grounds.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Upp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We don't expect much from Comfort Inns. This one exceeded our expectations. Large reasonably appointed and comfortable rooms, a really nice setting and a reasonable breakfast all contributed to a pretty good overall experience. Downside is location ... you have to drive to see anything in Monterey or Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyyetcheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I booked a room here because it was highly rated on Tripadvisor and they had one available for a busy holiday weekend, with no minimum stay requirement. The rate was almost $200 per night, probably due to the weekend.

The buildings are quite old, which isn't really obvious until you look at some of the original fixtures of the rooms and bathrooms. Overall, the property has really been maintained over the years, so it looks newer. Our room had a fireplace, small kitchen nook and a huge wall-mounted Vizio TV. This has to be the largest screen TV I have ever seen in a hotel room, and they had cable with a large assortment of channels available.

The bed was comfortable and the room was extremely quiet for sleeping at night. The size of the room was so large, it has the feel of a studio apartment more than a motel room. The bathroom was equally large, with two separate areas, and also made it feel more like an apartment than a motel.

The unimpressive part of the room was the old brown ceramic tile dominating the bathroom, and the shower fixture was very low in height with slightly weak water pressure. The decor of the room was similarly dated, but at the same time, well maintained over the years.

I am a little surprised this is the number 2 rated property in Monterey, CA. It was a comfortable and large room, but for the price, I would have expected the room furnishings and bathroom (tile and fixtures) to have been updated more recently.

  • Liked — Room size, Huge TV, Free wireless internet, quiet location
  • Disliked — Room decor and bathrooms need updating
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Great stopover hotel for family of 5.
decent breakfast large room, we brought our inflatable matress.
quiet, pleasent.

  • Liked — quietness
  • Disliked — a bit run down
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank israelifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2008

This hotel is very quiet and in a pretty wooded setting. We stayed in a king room with a fireplace. There is a fridge and microwave and wet bar area. The decor is nice and the room is clean. The bed is comfortable. While it is a Comfort Inn it has the feel of a boutique hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.6 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Address: 1200 Olmsted Rd, Monterey, CA 93940-5320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Monterey Airport. We are located on sprawling tree covered grounds at the entrance to the scenic Monterey California Peninsula. We are just minutes away from Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium, shopping, dinning and many sporting activities. We offer a free continental breakfast. All hotel rooms have free wireless high speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators, iron and ironing boards. Some of our hotel rooms offer balconies or bay windows, and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport Hotel Monterey
Comfort Inn Monterey Airport
Peninsula Monterey
Monterey Peninsula
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing