We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seedy place but good food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Persian Grill - CLOSED

Persian Grill
Price range: $11 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seedy place but good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing and a welcome change after days of seafood and the like. It was close to our hotel so seemed like a good idea.
We didn't notice the belly dancing sign on the door and went in. The place was dead except for a few tables. Suddenly dancing music started and out came a woman dancing, to the delight of the table she had just got up from. They were so delighted that they started putting dollar notes I to her clothes....yes that's right. It was awkward, we ate our food ASAP and left, another couple just over for us did the same.

I would return for takeout but never again to sit in

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Excelent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excelent food. Fabulous service. Great Persian experience. The restaurant was clean and friendly. I can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Persian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wonderful service, clean and pleasant setting, and the food--ah, the food. I rarely have an experience where everything is amazingly fresh and delicious without being cookie cutter. It was the best formal meal we had during our stay in Monterey.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Have eaten at this restaurant every time we go to Monterrey. Love the food and the management has been wonderful. Have had the belly dancer the last two times we went and she was great. The first time I didn't know was a special arrangement and that made it a little costly. Check on this before you go and the nights she is performing. Everything on the menu was tasty and is a dining experience. Try it you will like it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rabbilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California, United States
1 review
“Always excellent service, wonderful food and terrific entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I have been to Persian Grill many times and have always been treated well. The last time was not exception. My boyfriend and I celebrated his birthday at the Persian Grill with his entire family and the staff was wonderfully accommodating. I have never had a bad experience there and recommend to all of my friends. A+ BTW, if you can, go on a Saturday night to get the special stew- it is to die for!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elisekimopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persian Grill also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing