We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful spot”
Review of Massaro & Santos

Massaro & Santos
Ranked #49 of 299 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the second story at the end of the Coast Guard Pier in Monterey. Off the beaten path between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. 270 degree ocean views.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Probably the best clam chowder we've ever had - lots of cream and clams, accented with a dash of sherry. Crab cakes and lightly battered fried calamari were also both terrific. Excellent service, classy dining room and lovely views clinch the deal. I'm not sure what the earlier negative review was about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    81
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was great. Went there for lunch! I had the chicken sandwich witch was very good and even comes with a mayonnaise garlic sauce on it. i got fries instead of salad with my meal and they were also good. Crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. The service was good and quick. Will be going back again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGBDTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howe, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Based on the reviews, we had lunch there. First clue that it was a mistake was that it was pretty empty on a Sunday. The view and service were good, but the food was marginal, but lots of it. With all the choices in Monterey, I'd try a different spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calamari!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I got in somewhat late, tired after long flight and drive thru legendary Ca traffic. This was right by our hotel the Monteray Bay Inn (fantastic view). Anyway its just a short stroll and the food and the service is great. I highly recommend the Calamari Eggplant Parm, its totally diferent with a hearty slab of calamari layered in there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eljefe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food away from the crowds!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Came here for dinner after reading other TA reviews. This restaurant did not disappoint! My friends had the halibut special which could be prepared five or six different ways. They both really enjoyed their meal. I had a dish called Choke Miguel (you'll have to ask the waiter why that name) which consisted of scallops, prawns, crabmeat and artichoke hearts in a light sauce. (Comes with a side dish). Some of the best clam chowder and one of the best meals I have had and will definitely make a return trip. We would have loved to have ordered dessert (which looked wonderful) but the dinner portion is big enough that we had no room for dessert! Our waiter was friendly, helpful and funny. The restaurant is on a pier just off the main road so it is a great place to go for a break from the crowds. Unlike some of the restaurants on Cannery Row you are not sitting elbow to elbow with your neighboring tables.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calif_Cheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaro & Santos also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Massaro & Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing