We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Favorites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Massaro & Santos

Massaro & Santos
Ranked #50 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on the second story at the end of the Coast Guard Pier in Monterey. Off the beaten path between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. 270 degree ocean views.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is consistently one of our favorite restaurants. The food is excellent, prices reasonable, they have a decent wine list, and a full bar. The view is spectacular. We were there recently to celebrate our 14th anniversary. When I made the reservations I asked for a table with a special view - and we got one! Service is prompt and our entrees were fresh and hot....and delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    81
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Met here for a work lunch. Had the sand dabs (you have to in Monterey, right?). Well executed, very well presented, and very tasty as one would expect. Wife had the Crab Louie salad and was far from disappointed. Attentive service and good food all around; would return to try other seafood items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GG in P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recommended by hotel staff, more locals and less tourists. Good food with beautiful views on the water. Try the sand dabs, very tasty and a local favorite. Reasonably priced. Server was efficient but not very friendly. The location and lack of tourists made this a good find.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcoop1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice restaurant with good food and wine selection. This is on the north side of Cannery Row so you can get out of chaos of the tourists if you want easy in and out.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great restaurant, mostly frequented by locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Located on the Coast Guard Pier between the hotels of Cannery Row and the traditional Wharf area where most of the restaurants are located, this is a great find recommended by our Concierge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. We both had the Lobster stuffed Sole and it was really great. Not just some melange of shredded lobster, cheese, and breadcrumbs as expected this had large hunks of lobster and only a little else. Highly recommended and not that expensive. I will say the wine list is not the greatest and the "elevator" up from the ground floor is a piece of work, but its worth the trouble.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fanfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massaro & Santos also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Massaro & Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing