We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast at Monterey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paris Bakery Cafe

Paris Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 24 Dessert in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Paris Bakery has two locations to better serve you. One is located in downtown Monterey, two blocks from Alvarado; and the other is in the center of Seaside on Broadway Ave. We are open seven days a week and offer indoor and outdoor seating for your convenience. We make a large variety of baked goods: fresh breads, breakfast pastries, cookies and French pastries. We use the best espresso and coffee beans for your coffee drinks to go with our exquisite pastries. We also have an amazing lunch menu with daily specials. We serve sandwiches, salads, soups, wraps, panini and a lot more. We also serve wine and beer. We make all products fresh daily from scratch, with all-naturals ingredients without preservatives or additives. We have been in business for more than 26 years. Family business. 271 Bonifacio Plaza, Monterey: open at 6am daily. 1232 Broadway Ave., Seaside: open at 7am daily.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast at Monterey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you are tired of heavy and greasy breakfasts. Paris bakery is the perfect place. The place is cozy, staff is very helpful and seems very happy. The bread smell and taste were very good, coffee was delicious, The most difficult thing is to resist the temptation to try all the pastries.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuizCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    99
    17
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Branch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little taste of Paris in Monterey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The smell of fresh baked bread & croissants fills this cafe. Everything looks delicious and tastes incredible. Enjoy a fresh cup of hot chocolate with a chocolate Panin for an extra burst of flavor in the morning. The desserts are wonderful also. Enjoy Paris in the morning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DDRFtBranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The sandwiches and pastries have grown on me.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am local, and for the longest time I avoided this establishment; the food was always good, but it was cash only and I questioned the value - recently, I decided to give it another try, and have completely changed my mind. The quality of the food is outstanding, and in my opinion worth the extra price. I have not been disappointed in several visits, which is always a good. Oh, and they are no longer cash only, yet another bonus!
On the basis of several positive experiences, I would recommend the Paris Bakery for breakfast or lunch to both locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Genuine items”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Seeing the rows of baked goods will take your breath away. Fruit tarts, Danish, eclairs, Napoleons, name it ! I'm a sucker for the bread pudding but arrive early to get it. The great home made breads are a treat by themselves. Several cafe's use their breads. The little baguette sandwiches are terrific.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food for a small price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A group of 6, we found this place by accident. Originally in search of parking and coffee, we were so thrilled by the appeal of the food we all bought a snack lunch also. The staff were cheerful and helpful, the food absolutely first class whether savory or some of the most delightful cakes. Seating space is limited but it is worth the wait, or you might carry-out. The drinks are also good. It was so enjoyable we detoured from US1, in to get breakfasts the next day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Bakery Cafe also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Paris Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing