We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

We really liked Casa Munras. It is currently being renovated so some facilities were closed (restaurant). Our room had been renovated so it was very clean, had new carpet, updated bathroom, very comfortable beds (could use better bath towels, but that is minor). There is also new outdoor furniture at the pool.

We were only in town for one night and it served our needs well (for a longer stay one might want more amenities). The staff was helpful and professional. We were also able to check in early. It is clear that they are trying to upgrade the experience for everyone.

You can catch the free trolley that runs to the Aquarium about 1 block from the hotel. If you have small kids, they would love the Dennis the Menace park (also close to the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SantaMonicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    499
    218
    92
    51
See reviews for
302
641
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

Every time I visit Monterey I stay at Casa Munras. It is centrally located and the accomodations are excellent. If you want a quiet place and a good night sleep, this is the place to stay. They offer the Larkspur FeatherBorne bedding which is very comfortable. I also enjoy their continental breakfast complete with Starbucks coffee! All the staff are very professional and personal, which makes you feel right at home. I can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Liked — Larkspur signature FeatherBorne Bed
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bogeygolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

My wife and stayed at Casa Munras on our vacation to Monterey. We had read the reviews and they all seem to be getting better with time. I completely agree with everyone that they are doing all the right things to make the hotel a higher class place to stay. We were treated well by the staff and the room was very comfortable, especially because of the down pillows, and bed cover. There are two things that I think could be better. First was the breakfast, which was nice, but I found the fruit to be stale as well as the bagels. The other was that for a nice hotel with no air conditioner (only heat), it was difficult to have the windows open at night because of the street noise. I would definately recommend the staff to place white noise machines in the rooms as an extra luxury that would make a huge differance. All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay very much and I found the rates to be a bargin compared to other local hotels.

  • Liked — Location, price, down bedding
  • Disliked — Breakfast, street noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kickdbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

This is a hotel in transition. The service level and room interior are wonderful. However, the overall facility amenities are still in development.

They have done a great job making the room itself very nice, very plush and very comfortable. It's an older property, though, so the room was not very large.

The staff is first-rate, reflective of a very high-service hotel.

They are continuing their construction of a new main building, that will provide additional amenities and common areas.

The location is great to see all of the Monterey Peninsula, and I would recommend Casa Munras.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

First time staying at Casa Munras and it definitely will NOT be the last. Very impressed w/ everything especially the staff. Very friendly and professional. Although there are some renovations going on, it didn't stop us from enjoying our weekend stay. The garden atmosphere was very relaxing and a total breath of fresh air. I'm looking forward to coming back and staying ONLY at Casa Munras. It's also close and very convenient to everything!

  • Liked — "homey" feel of the entire hotel; very inviting garden views; very relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marqcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

Casa Munras is a great place to stay at if you want to be close to the Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey. The staff was very friendly and very attentive. One of the biggest surprises was that when I pulled my car in to check in, one of the hotel employees noticed my infant son in my car. When I was checking in, he asked if I needed a crib for my son. I didn't even know cribs were available. I accepted and he immediately had the staff set up a crib in my room while I was checking in. By the time I arrived at my room with my family, the crib was already setup as if it had been there the whole time!

Another hotel staff member who was checking me in noticed that I had booked a package deal to include tickets to the Monterey Bay Aquarium also supplied me with information on the feeding and show schedule at the aquarium.

My wife also got a sample of the staff's attentiveness when she went to look for information on restaurants. The hotel staff helped her with getting the brochures she wanted and also offered to help call and make the reservations for us.

Definitely will consider staying at Casa Munras when my wife and I visit Monterey again as their attentiveness and attention to detail made my son's first trip easier and pleasant!

  • Liked — The attentive staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bedrock8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

I thought the hotel was nice and very clean. Keep in mind that Larkspur is currently renovating the lobby and may decide to formally upgrade the rooms as well.

Fridge and DVD in the room was a nice touch.

The free wireless Internet was also surprisingly fast.

Remember, the lobby has a nice list of DVDs that people can rent out for the night at no charge.

One visitor said that the room had some small "touch-ups" and I agree with that.

Bottom line: Monterey can be a very expensive place, and Casa was a good price to pay ($115 per night) AAA.

If anyone wants to save some money, I have a 25% discount gift certificate on someone's next visit. I'm selling it for $20

Interested, let me know:

martberson at yahoo com


I won't be going back to Monterey for the next couple of years, but this place should be beautiful once its finished.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TIG Global and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing