We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still needs some work”
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This hotel has improved from what it used to be, however, it still needs some work. The room was clean and updated to a point, but most of the updating was clearly superficial. Larkspur hotels has taken this hotel over, which should bode well in the future. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and needs to be replaced. We did end up with fireplace, which added a nice touch. I think the coming years will bring good things for Casa Munras. It's stil very close to downtown and cannery row, which is the main reason we stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lsiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    508
    221
    93
    51
See reviews for
307
654
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Granada, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

We were disappointed in our most recent stay at Casa Munras. We requested a room with a fireplace when we booked, but our room lacked this amenity. There was a huge laundry bag with dirty linen right outside our door (not a welcoming sight) that stayed there for several hours after we arrived. The bulb in the standing lamp was burned out, and the lamp between the beds had only a 25 watt bulb, not strong enough to read by. The desk clerk said that someone would bring us new bulbs after 5 p.m. By 6:30, we still hadn't received them; a phone call to the desk revealed that the fellow had gone to the wrong room and couldn't figure out who actually needed the bulb. The pool area is nice, but though it's advertised as heated, one would have to be a polar bear to enjoy the water. At least the breakfast was as good as it had been on previous stays. The desk clerks were civil but not particularly welcoming. All in all, Casa Munras needs to offer better service all around.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — indifferent service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2006

We could have saved money and had a better experience if we had stayed at your typical budget motel. There seems to be two sizes of standard rooms; we booked through Priceline and guess which size room we got? The second morning they discontinued the breakfast because of renovations and had coffee and pre-packaged muffins instead. On the fourth day they didn't have anything.
They did give us an upgraded room and a voucher to a local cafe after some vocal protesting. The staff and the pool were fine, but overall this was the worst place I've ever stayed at.

  • Liked — The staff and the pool
  • Disliked — The managers and everything else.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

This is a belated review, but I wanted to say how much we loved Casa Munras. We are English and travelled around CA for three weeks in August of 2006. Casa Munras was far and way the best. hotel we stayed at. Small, individual; location and reception service were good. ,beds, pillows and duvets were sensational. Pool, very pretty, nice extras. Our room,though very attractive, was in the corner of a square, dark, but we didn't intend to spend much time in the room, apart from sleeping, so it didn't matter to us . The TV also didn't face the beds, but it was no great hardship having our teenage kids move chairs in front of the TV. Maidservice the only problem. Generally unpleasant, surly. The first day, my two lazyy teenage children (14 and 17) were sleeping in the first morning (approx. 9am) and the maids entered the room and cleaned around my kids! My kids were shocke but didn't know what to do or say! An absolute no no!! If it hadn't had been for the rest or the hotel's many good points I would have gone beserk.

  • Liked — fabulous beds and bedding
  • Disliked — maid service
  • Tips/Secrets — don't accept room on ground floor in corner of score, next to housemaids room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Janzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

A good little motel on the edge of the City Centre.
Nice public areas with bar and restaurant.
Temendous free breakfast.
Nice Pool Area

Eric Coates
England

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coateseric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Deep discount on a deluxe fireplace room through Sherman's Travel Newsletter. Charming room, excellent service, short walk to shops on Alvarado St. and Fisherman's Wharf. Super-comfy bed, room was delightfully appointed in a French/country style. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — charming rooms, proximity to attractions
  • Disliked — a few homeless folks panhandling in the neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — check for discounts through travel newsletters
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank odalisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

Please be aware of an issue that occured twice during our check in process. We arrived and were checked in to a room but the check in staff were unsure if the room had been cleaned and so went to check. When the check in guy came back he told us that the room was still occupied. We were then checked in to another room and given the keys. When we went in to this new room, due to the handbag and lap top on the bed, along with personal effects in the bathroom, it was apparant this room was also occupied. We were appalled to have been given room keys to someone else's room and were really conerned at the complete disregard for people's safety and security. If we have not pre paid we would not have stayed.
The Manager was very appologetic and assured us that this not happpened before - ?
Endless sagas later ( one noisy tiny room and the promise of a suite, which did not materialise. We ended up with an upgrade and a $50 credit at the bar )
More negative points - very noisy plumbing - if anyone near you uses the shower or sink you know about it . Also get a room on the first floor - or anyone walking around above you sounds like a herd of elephants charging across the ceiling .Try and avoid staying in the standard size rooms - not enough room to swing a cat.
Positive points. Very comfortable bed. Great selection for breakfast ( cereals, fruit, muffins, toast, bagals, juice and coffee) which is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing