We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures do not do it justice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pictures do not do it justice”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We travel often and this time brought our two little children to stay a night in Monterey Bay to go whale watching. This place was not only super convenient to the warf but it was gorgeous!!!! The room was spectacular! The fireplace was warm and comforting, the room was very spacious, the staff was amazing and the beds felt like a slice of heaven. Not to mention the restaurant was convenient, very slow service for food but again the staff was so friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace in the cold months so worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanesha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    517
    226
    95
    52
See reviews for
320
668
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here for three nights during a conference. The lobby, entrance, and grounds are very nice. My room, which is ADA (I had a family member join me and he's older, so he'd rather avoid stairs if possible) was big enough, but rather uneventful, it appeared as if all the leftover furniture unused from other rooms was tossed into our room, and it felt like a basement - very dark.

However, we weren't using the room - only for sleep and so forth. We hung out a lot at the outdoor lounge, which becomes a popular hotspot for happy hour with locals and tourists alike in the evening. Heaters abound so it's popular well into the evening.

I made an appointment at the spa, which is very nice and brand new (or newly reopened). My nail tech never showed up, so they offered me another appointment and a free pedicure. So, that was nice and my nail tech that day was really lovely and nice. Rates are very reasonable at the spa.

Hotel staff was very nice, funny and accommodating. Restaurant staff was friendly, very slow sometimes though. I often felt like they treated people differently based on how much they spend, which was very frustrating as a solo person who sometimes just wanted a drink. However, the bartender and manager were generally very nice. I did move at one point to allow the manager to seat a larger party at my table, and wasn't even thanked for it. The perils of solo dining...

Casa Munras is close to historic downtown Monterey. You can walk. But, for those who aren't able to walk far, I'd stay someplace closer in town. Free parking is nice, and the area felt rather safe at night despite some "local color," that hangout near the Peet's Coffeeshop nearby.

Pro tip - French bakery across the street is fabulous for coffee and fresh pastries in the morning. Pool is very clean and heated year round at the hotel!

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room in the back of the facility. Bottom floor you'll hear everyone and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Enjoyed our stay, food in the restaurant is really good, especially for breakfast. Booked three rooms here for a family vacation and only down side was the while we got the two rooms with king beds close to each other, the third room with two twin beds was in a completely different block. Fine for us as our kids are older but could be a problem for some families. Didn't use the pool as weather was cool, but facilities looked OK. Easy walk to a selection of restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank emptynester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,932 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

It's basically a converted road motel from the old days. The carpet is worn and stained. No water pressure in the shower. No soundproofing between the rooms and you can also head everything going on outside. The chick at the front desk was nice. This joint is way overpriced.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alzor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to review Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that our front desk staff was so friendly, as our mission is to provide an environment committed to personal and attentive service. We are sincerely sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to resolve the issues you experienced. We would also like to share that we will begin room renovations this fall and will be putting in all new insulation and plumbing. Regarding the rate; we strive to create an experience that our guests feel is valuable and are disappointed we fell short of this. We hope that you will be able to return soon to experience all the upcoming improvements.

Best Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Clean. Non smoking environment. Super Bed/Feathery Pillows
Walking distance
to the aquarium, to many shops, within feet of a great meal at Estebans..Happy hour is incredible. /chicken+++
Far walk for elders. Get a cab.
I recommend going to the local grocery store, then find your private table, along the shore, bring binoculars to see whales, and a blanket, and a bottle to fill with ocean water to take home. Maybe a rock or stone too..as gifts

Room Tip: We were in Room 184. You cannot see it from the parking lot, its along a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here with family members late last summer. The location was very central and within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf (about 10-15 min.).

Rooms were very nice and clean, with nice amenities. The only small complaint we had was where our rooms were located - right across from the pool, which is always slightly noisy. Thankfully at night it was quiet and we very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garzeneshct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,tx
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel with a good location. Walking distance to the wharf and plenty of restaurants. Comfy enough beds, wi fi, mini fridge in the room. Breakfast not included which is a bummer. The AC in our room wasn't working nor was the fan. All in all it was a decent place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank darqstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing