We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Great location!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is my third visit to the Casa Munras Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here! Our fireplace room with King bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed dining several times at the restaurant on-site, Esteban. There are heaters and a fireplace on the restaurant patio- a nice place to relax at the start and end of the day. There are movie DVD's to be borrowed at no charge. Appreciated the in room coffeemaker and small refrigerator. Even bicycled at the fitness center. The hotel staff is efficient and friendly. A dispenser of flavored water and cups and a basket of apples are located in the lobby. Hot, fresh baked cookies are available between 3-5pm. Great location to the wharf via a short walk. Our first choice for great lodging at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-lady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    508
    221
    93
    51
See reviews for
307
654
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at this property. Each time I have had a wonderful experience. The room is exactly what I expected. The bed was very comfortable. Free parking. Easy access to route 1. The gym is small but it was exactly what I needed. I will be back my next trip to the area.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were in the back building at the rear of the property - our experience elsewhere might have been different, but we could not sleep for half the night because there was Friday night unofficial street racing going on in the street next to our room. We checked out early on Saturday and spent Saturday night in another more expensive hotel, with much better sleeping conditions.

The hotel looks nice from the street, has a nice staff and the lobby area is very nice, but fundamentally it's a cosmetically updated 1960's motel with exterior room entrances.

You can do better in Monterey. You may pay a bit more elsewhere, but at least you can sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room in the center of the building complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. They always love hearing from our guests. We were disappointed that your stay was less than enjoyable and want to apologize for the noise issue that prevented you from getting a restful night sleep. Casa Munras Hotel and Spa sits across 4 acres of land and is one of the more authentic properties in Monterey, being one of the first hotels in the area. We did recently acquire this property and are very excited to continue to improve the facilities. The lobby, Estebans, and the spa have all been renovated and we are scheduled to begin room renovations this fall. In the scope of our renovation plans we will be putting in double pane windows and new insulation to assist with preventing outside noise. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us in the future to experience all of the exciting renovations and upgrades firsthand.

Warmest Regards,

The Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice this year and have found the location central to the activities we enjoy, the staff friendly the amenities abundant, the rooms well maintained and the value excellent. Will stay here visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is one great place to stay because it is walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row as well as to shopping areas. The property is well kept and clean. No complaints about the room either. The double beds were comfy and room size for my family was perfect. The only complaints was that the bathroom fan wasn't working and brought this to the attention to the front desk. They were happy to fix the issue right away…but wasn't convenient for my family so…..they gave me a $25 credit voucher for the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs or on a single level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place has a lot going for it, good location, comfy beds, clean room, good restaurant. On the down side, the exterior is tired especially the roof, which is beginning to look like it's thatched. We were assigned a room that appeared to have been repurposed. It was in the pool area, tiny, with ceiling light fixtures that weren't centered, no fireplace and crowded with furniture. We visit Monterey often depending on the deals available at either this hotel or the other 3.5 star up the street. Next time, I'll ask if the room looks like the website pix. It is still a good value and we will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here 4 times and love it! The staff is great the place is beautiful the rooms that we've stayed in have all been amazing they are all beautifully decorated they have fire places and awesome showers and comfy beds. The Spa is amazing too we loved the outdoor spa and massage it was well worth the cost. The restaurant at the hotel is not so good at least to us were not into tapas but its a nice place to grab drinks and sit out by the fire pit or indoors.They also have a mini gym which is nice.The other awesome thing is its within walking distance of Pete's Coffee and Trader Joe's and downtown Monterey :) Its a must stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing