We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large downtown Monterey hotel with spa service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not precisely in downtown but within close proximity to everywhere you need to go when visiting Monterey. Situated at a corner lot, this is a large hotel with a nice lobby entrance and restaurant plus spa services available on the premises. Plenty of parking available along the outdoor gated swimming pool. I forego the breakfast they served to go across the street to Dennys for take away which was very convenient. At night, the restaurant opens as a bar with outdoor seating by the firepit. A small gift shop, business center & daily rejuvenating health drink with fruits served behind the lobby complimentary. The room is tidy with a comfortable bed but no fridge. The bathroom is on the smaller scale with outdated tiled shower. We left our car at the hotel & took a short walk to the bus stop a few blocks away where you can catch a ride on the free trolly that picks up/drop off every 15 minutes & takes you to the scenic locations such as fisherman's wharf, cannery row & aquarium. For the non-tourists, the Del Monte Center is the largest mall in the area just a brief drive on Munrus Ave. Further driving distance to Pebble Beach & Carmel but all within easy reach maybe 10-15 min away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriciaychou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Casa Munras is a great family-style motel. The lobby, spa, and tapas bar may seem a little fancy and on the pretentious side, but once we got back to our room (waaaaay back, it's a huge complex) we felt like it was perfect for families with kids. The pool is heated and large (no hot tub), the rooms are spacious, and the landscaping is lovely. We enjoyed the free DVD rental. Parking was free and it's a short drive to Fisherman's Wharf, the Aquarium, and other Monterey attractions.

We tried breakfast at the onsite restaurant, and it was decent, but we much preferred the breakfast we had at the funky little bakery across the street. There's also a Denny's next door if that's your thing. We didn't try the restaurant at night, but there's an inviting patio with a fireplace where we enjoyed a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripmom1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

we didnt stay for long but check in was a breeze and the pool was lovely. Nice clean white room with a nice shower!! Cookie on check out and if we did have any questions im sure they would have been happy to help!!
Great location too with a short walk down to all the shops and things to do. Beautiful town :O)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Casa Munras during the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. It's ideally located a couple of minutes walk from the Transit Plaza for the bus or a 20 minute cab ride. The room was clean , the beds comfortable and the bathroom a good size. Recommend this hotel if Laguna Seca is where you are heading.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Specialben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The service was at the front desk was great. The room was clean and comfortable, but it was nothing spectacular. I would stay here again, but wish the price was a little more reasonable. Not sure about the spa services as we didn't use them .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good size rooms and a nice restaurant bar area. Food good in the restaurant, Denny s across the road as well. Good pool and area and overall good feel to the hotel. Great location for Monterey and best of all less than twenty minutes away from Laguna seca. We did set off at 7am though one of first one's there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for our anniversary. It was his first trip to the city of monterey and this hotel made him immediately fall in love with the city. It was nice and close to the aquarium, cannery row, and fisherman's wharf. They staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, great toiletries I'm assuming from their spa, fireplace, and a wonderful balcony outside of our room with chairs, table, a view of the pool. Though $230 is pricey, it was the average price of hotels in that area but definitely an above average hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackielo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $123 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing