We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But No Air Con”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But No Air Con”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in a king sized room for two nights at his unique boutique hotel with nice rooms which need a fresh lick of paint. However, I would of given the hotel a better rating if the rooms had air con which significantly impacted sleep quality through the rooms being being warm and stuffy. The water within the shower/ bath seemed to have a gas smell which we presumed was due to possibly gas powered water supply.

The hotel has a pool and fitness centre which are in very good condition. The main building is stunning with a very good tapas restaurant. The hotel provides a bike rental service which is great for exploring Monterey and 17 mile drive which includes Carmel, Pebble Beach GC and other world famous courses. In addition the hotel provides complementary DVD rentals and free wifi which is slow at times.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly, tentative and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    513
    223
    95
    52
See reviews for
313
660
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We gambled a did a short notice booking on Hotwire which can be a disaster with 3 guests needing accommodation. Upon check in we were upgraded to a room with 2 beds instead of the one Hotwire arranged for us. Nick at the front desk was very friendly and had many good ideas to make our experience in Monterey wonderful and we appreciated the time he took with each guest. We loved the hotel and location so much that we booked one additional night and were able to move in very early in the morning to our new quieter room (noisy guests). The beds are comfortable and the property has a lovely pool and fantastic restaurant called Esteban. We had supper the night we arrived after the aquarium visit. We had trouble finding anything appealing down by the warf. The food at Esteban was delicious and the service was outstanding. The second evening after a full day of touring around we had happy hour in the restaurant - half price for many appetizers and wine. We ate our way through the menu! Of note were the prawns a la plancha for supper, medjool dates, tomatoe and watermelon appetizers.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor without an adjoining room to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceH357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Chose this hotel because of good reviews. We stayed for 4 nights and were not disappointed. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a fireplace, unfortunately the balcony looked over a car park but we could see the sea in the distance. The bed was super comfortable, the best bed we had on our trip, and the room was clean. The service when we booked in was friendly and helpful. We did have breakfast on the morning we left but service was not great and the breakfast was the worst we had on our trip! Everything seemed as though it had been standing for ages rather than being freshly cooked. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading other reviews, we booked this hotel for a four night stay. Price was reasonable and all was very acceptable. Rooms were smaller than some, but we had one with a balcony and a gas fireplace - it was July but the fireplace was nice in the evening - temps in the 50's! We did not use the spa or restaurant services because we were busy sight-seeing, but the lobby and restaurant appeared to have been updated recently and were very nice. Rooms were super clean, which is what matters most to me. Also very convenient to catching the free trolley to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, or if you need a little exercise, they are also within walking distance. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The front desk/concierge staff is excellent - welcoming, professional, and extremely helpful. The restaurant on the property, Esteban, is very good as well. Had some tapas late on arrival (seafood stew was bland but everything else was great), and breakfast was not only high quality but a bargain. Probably on par price-wise with the Denny's nearby, but far better food.

Rooms were comfortable, if a bit small and unimpressive. The flowers that cover the property smell amazing and really help one relax. Location was just right for someone wanting to relax - close enough to be convenient, far enough from the tourist areas to be quiet and chill. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here one night to visit family who were also staying in the area. The grounds are nicely landscaped and the rooms are clean, spacious and quiet (even on a Saturday night). We felt the room was fairly priced and appreciated the option to stay just one night. My favorite part of the stay was the bed, which was very comfortable - even for me being in my third trimester of pregnancy and picky about bed comfort. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fast, friendly checkin, and lots of little touches like free DVD check-out at the main office, bike rentals, and an in-room fridge. Roll-away bed was available for an extra 20 dollars a night which was nice for our large family, and the room was spacious enough for the two double beds and the rollaways plus we still had room to move around. Definitely would consider staying here again. We often prefer hotels with interior corridors for security, but all rooms here we saw were accessible from the outside. Some are advertised as interior access, but the door to the buildings were wide open. The site does have a security patrol, and we didn't feel at all unsafe though.

Room Tip: The property has several buildings around the perimeter, each with plenty of parking. Some building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrugalFamilyChico_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing