We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place in Monterey !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good place in Monterey !”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Carmel we stopped in this nice hotel, personnel is very Friendly and the rooms very nice ! I would especially recommend the hotel restaurant : Esteban a great tapas place for diner. finish with an Expresso Martini (cocktail with coffee and kaluha) specialty of the house prepared by Helena with a huge smile ! Great place to recommend !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffy0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    517
    226
    95
    52
See reviews for
320
668
62
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked a room in that hotel not finding any hint that rooms are in any other location than the main building. We arrived and were told our room is 200 meters away from the main building in a kind of barrack constructed building. The room actually was right next to the pool and the ice machine. I asked for an upgrade to be in the main building. I would have accepted the additional cost. The receptionist checkd for availabilities and a room was shown to us, that we were willing to accept. Coming down from the room , the receptionist all of a sudden realized that this room was already booked. So we stayed in the room next to the ice machine, what was a night mare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Dog Friendly: Your dog can stay with you in your room - first floor only. Make sure you speak to the front desk about having your dog with you. There's a very nice, well maintained grassy area to take your dog. The staff deals with your pet very well. They were very nice to my English Bulldog. You can also take your dog to the lobby area and the attached restaurant lets you sit with your dog in the patio area.

Service: Very friendly efficient staff from front desk to the housekeepers.
Room: Seems to have been updated since some of the more critical reviews. The layout is clearly from the 50's, and that would take major remodeling to fix. But the furnishing were good. No air conditioning, and while you rarely need it in Monterey, you do need it from time to time. A fan would be nice.
Bed: Not good. Not horrible, but definitely not the most comfortable bed I've slept in.
Price: I booked this online, the price was good. I don't know about their direct prices.
Hotel grounds: Nice rose garden. Swimming pool that is well kept.
WIFI: Fast and Free
Close to all the tourist (and non-tourist) spot in Monterey

Room Tip: You don't want a room by the pool. And the rooms next to the dog walking area is busy, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location close to the town and Fisherman's Wharf area of Monterey. Free parking. The hotel is made up of low-rise hacienda-style buildings. We were on the 1st floor (but Americans call it 2nd floor as they don't seem to have a ground floor!) and were in a huge king-size room which was really comfortable and with excellent facilities. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful in making arrangements for us such as hire of bikes, restaurant bookings, aquarium tickets etc.
There is a pool - but we did not use it - though it looked fine - we were just busy doing other things. We didn't use the hotel restaurant - but went just across the road to the Denny's for breakfast which was very convenient.
This was the best hotel we stayed in during our entire trip . We would thoroughly recommend it to everyone

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade and were delighted with the size of and facilities in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Casa Munras Hotel. The staff were all super frindly and helpful. I was very impressed. The rooms are cute and clean. In a good location and within walking distance to all the main attractions. I will plan on staying again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times before and every time got upgraded to a suite so we were hoping for that to be available again for our family visiting from Texas. Instead, we arrived to a 20 minute wait before checking in, not getting upgraded and then couldn't find our rooms because there were no signs telling us where to go on the building. We went up and down stairs twice with two children and 5 suitcases before finally finding it on our own. We arrived to our room only to find it boiling hot and found out there is no AC. We complained and were told they would bring fans. The discounted rate and breakfast vouchers were a nice apology from the hotel, but still didn't sleep well because it was so hot. We had breakfast at the restaurant, which was good--but the service was horrible. After 4 times we are definitely done and will be staying at other hotels from now on when we come.

Room Tip: Only stay if you can get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyHa11710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My new favorite place in Monterey. Such a nice, pleasant, centrally-located spot. I took a chance on http://hotels.com and was not disappointed. The restaurant is great. The service is excellent. The rooms are quaint and clean. The property is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing