We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had 3x rooms for 3x nights here on a family vacation.
We're upgraded to rooms with fireplaces on arrival overlooking pool which was very much appreciated.
Staff excellent, extremely helpful and friendly.
Restaurant very good, lovely food and great atmosphere.
Short walk to shops and fisherman's wharf not too far at all. Preferred the area rather than Fisherman's wharf which is very old and touristy. Have big shopping Mall with Macy's etc only 5 mins drive up the road from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The front desk people were extremely helpful. The lobby and restaurant were beautiful. That's where it ends. The rooms were very old and desperately needed an update. No air or fan.
We stayed here on purest down the pacific coast highway.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spd054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a couple nights with wife and one adult kid. Service was outstanding, Both rooms were clean and staff was very accommodating. Beds were very comfortable and fireplace added to the nice atmosphere.. The grounds are worth the trip; beautifully landscaped. Wife enjoyed the Pool, the jacuzzi, the Spa and we both found the restaurant "Esteban" terrific. Happy hours around the fire pit was lively and worth mentioning. Parking in the inn was very convenient (and free for hotel customers) Reception desk staff was courteous and resourceful.
Overall experience was terrific.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can be noisy at times; kids were usually as loud as the adults :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIAPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I took my daughter for a get away while she was visiting and the room we were put in was so outdated.. No bathtub just a green chipped shower and sink and worse yet our room was next to the fitness room. We had a constant loud banging on our walls it was so bad we couldn't hear the t.v. I called down and we were moved to another room. What a hassle to pack up and move your things, this type of room should be a last resort room for a late night check in and only when nothing else is available. Huge disappointment

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Vintage property with lovely rose gardens, firepit patio & bar, pool, ample parking spaces. Concierge's local restaurant & San Fran hotel suggestions/reservations "above & beyond" led to extending stay a 2nd night. High-end robes, linens, toiletries, furnishings and lobby beverages reminiscent of a romantic B&B. Conveniently located near restaurants and shops. Bar service for coffee nightcaps were a tad slow.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard view overlooking pool & gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pros: This hotel has an excellent location and very lovely flowers. Also, the beverages in the lobby in the afternoon are delicious.

Cons: Heard more noise from the room above me than I've ever heard in any hotel. Definitely ask for a 2nd floor room if you go there.

The service left something to be desired. I had to ask for a tv remote control 3 days in a row before they finally brought me one. Also, my bathroom window (on 1st floor next to walkway) had no curtain. It had frosted glass but since the other rooms had bathroom curtains, I asked for a curtain, and they brought one somewhat grudgingly. Privacy during travel is a security issue, not a luxury.

Finally, the room I was in had extensive termite holes in both bedside tables and the headboard. These should be replaced (and any lingering termite problems should be addressed).

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms if possible due to noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoad28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel wins points from me for being a family friendly, totally smoke free environment. The room was nice and clean, a little on the small side, but still a great deal with the discount applied from our travel service. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and these days great customer service ranks high in my book. Our stay was a business/family combination trip. The only disappointing factor was there was no breakfast buffet included in our package. Perhaps the hotel might consider adding this to their amenities to raise the bar level on their review from Very Good to EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Can get a little noisy with patrons walking up stairs, but overall still a great bargain and peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairfieldSpikesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $123 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing