We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a nice stay at Casa Munras! Location is 10-15 min walk to Fisherman's wharf where we had dinner. It is right near Alvarado street where there are shops and restaurants and bars. It is a short drive to Cannery row/Aquarium. Travelodge and Denny's is across the street. I thought the room was quiet with nice decor. Room had small fridge and coffee maker. There was a fitness center and pool that we didn't use. Front desk was nice and friendly. Low flow shower is my only complaint so it took a little longer to rinse my hair. I recommend Casa Munras Hotel.
FYI I saw there are bicycles for rent. Next time I would like to bike along the beautiful coastline and have a picnic.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank YL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
There are newer reviews for Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staff was very friendly and the lobby was beautiful but I was put in a Cozy queen for a couple of hundred dollars. The room was NOT worth the price. It was just the room, no fireplace, then they put fancy sheets on the bed, put in fancy soaps and lotions and some stainless steel servers and call it good. I will say that the bed was very comfortable. However, for the price I expect to get a few addtional perks. They leave a couple of bottles of water on the table for you but charge you $2.50 each if you use them.

Parking was a nightmare. I had a full sized rental car and I was nervous about navigating the overly packied one way parking lot - barely squeezed through in some parts. If I had been in my husbands suv I would have been in trouble. When in the office checking in, I saw a guest come in who was stuck in the parking lot with his F150. I took the last parking space although I heard the staff still giving out room quotes and saying there were still rooms available.

For the price I'd rather go to one of the other hotels in the vicinity. Location was extremely good though -walking distance to aquarium, wharf, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not getting a room in the first building (rooms 100-106) if you expect a little mo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyInns, General Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

I want to thank this reviewer, first and foremost, for taking the time to share feedback on their recent experience. Honest comments from our guests, either received directly or through their posts on TripAdvisor, are very important to me as they provide the best possible insight into how our services are being received and how we might make improvements. I want to thank this reviewer, as well, for their high ranking of the cleanliness of the hotel – we recognize that the hard work of our housekeeping staff is large part of what sets our hotel apart, and I am happy to share this feedback.

That said, we are all disappointed to hear that despite this reviewer’s high regard for certain aspects of our hotel, their stay was less than wonderful. Please know that we ourselves are newcomers to the Casa Munras. Our company, the Inns of Monterey, recently purchased this hotel, and we are actively in the process of evaluating for improvements. Over the next several months plan will be put together to renovate the whole property; updating the bathrooms, windows, and other room amenities will be some of our top priorities. Your feedback such as this is truly appreciated, and will be taken into account as a renovation plan is developed. Please also know that we have recently installed $4,200.00 worth of new wi-fi equipment, and that we are embarking on a thorough flooring and carpet cleaning of the entire hotel; over the few weeks, each room and public space will be systematically gone through by an outside, professional cleaning service.

As for this guest’s concern regarding the parking; we are aware of the less than ideal set up of the parking lot, and I sincerely apologize for the difficulty it posed. We are currently attempting to purchase additional property in order to expand our parking availability, and hopefully avoid difficulties such as this in the future.

Thank you, again, for your review. Should any guest wish to speak with our managers directly regarding a question or concern, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We consider comments from all of our guests – both current and future – to be incredibly valuable, and we welcome all feedback.

Thank you,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is great as it is walking distance to the visitor center, fisherman's wharf and you can also walk to cannery row. Staff is very friendly here. The landscaping is great and give a very nice feel to stay.The only flip side is that if you have noisy neighbors and have a ground floor room you might not get siesta time at night. Other wise this place is really recommended.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room facing the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

All the motels on Munras are older, as this property is (circa 1950), but very well maintained.
Casa Munras is probably the most updated with a restaurant, spa, and hair salon. There are lots of rooms, most of which cannot be seen from the street. The grounds are beautifully kept. We did not use the restaurant, or spa. Our room was small. We saw a door open to a larger room, so if that is an issue for you, you had best cover the subject when booking. We booked through priceline, but saw another site that had the same room for $6 more without bidding. We paid $106 for three nights, Sun, Tue, Wed.
Bed was comfortable, bathroom manageable, and everything was very clean and upgraded. Coffee pot available. The only drawback would be that cars are parked right in front of the rooms, so close that when someone starts their truck or car up at 6:30 am (even 4:30 am), you are going to think it is in your bedroom. Having said that though, the place was pretty quiet. You have no other choices unless you ask for an upstairs room, and that would be true with all the motels on Munras. If you want an inside corridor, you will need to book in a hotel. There is no air-conditioning, usually not an issue in Monterey, but it was warm the first day we arrived. The motel was seemingly full, nearly all parking places taken, so it must be doing something right. Location is a bit odd when you first find it, across from a triangle bit of road, probably about six blocks from downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Staff was friendly, the room was very neat, with a nice gas fireplace on the corner. Plenty of places to relax (sit down, read a book) around the hotel. Excellent wifi coverage and speed. Bed was very comfortable, pillows were just right. Room's bathroom seemed to have been just renovated. Excellent overall impression! Would recommend for sure to a friend!
Only downside: The floor squeals a lot (something troublesome for guests on the ground floor).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor! It may be a hassle to carry your bags upstairs (no elevator, but...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way down to LA.
the location is good - easy walking distance to the marina and all of the bars restaurants etc.
The hotel itself itself is clean and pleasant. The grounds are very nicely kept and the rooms are by no means spectacular but they are more than adequate.
If you get chance go and have a drink in the hotel bar. They have happy hour 5-6.30, the cocktails are excellent and the local characters who drink in there are a friendly bunch. We got talking to the former county sheriff who had some great stories!
Overall, there is nothing particularly flash about this hotel but its an excellent base to explore the lovely town of Monterey. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richfulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's a big hotel with many rooms/buildings. The room was nice with home-like touches. The bathroom was on the small side and the shower was like a closet. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MomTeach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,989 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $147 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing