We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's a big hotel with many rooms/buildings. The room was nice with home-like touches. The bathroom was on the small side and the shower was like a closet. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MomTeach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable but seemed expensive for the amenities provided. The hotel is walking distance to downtown and is nicely landscaped. Our room was a "cozy queen" which pretty much describes it...large enough for ourselves and our two suitcases.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way up the PCH to San Francisco. We found a great rate around £70 per night online and the hotel happily matched it. We had a cozy queen room which was just that, cozy but extremely comfortable. Lovely decor, comfy bed and yes, the bathrooms are small but there is plenty of clever storage and a desk to put your things. Hotel is walking distance to Fisherman's wharf and about a 5 minute drive to Cannery Row and the aquarium. There is a good shopping centre just up the road with shops, Whole Foods and a movie theatre. The tapas restaurant in the hotel is fantastic, would highly recommend it along with a great. Glass of local wine. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful with their tips of things to do in the area. Pool area is lovely too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMad1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last night. We decided on it because it was actually the cheapest value in the area. Don't be scared by the $100 rooms. After spending $300 per night up in Napa, we just needed a decent spot to rest our heads. This place is clean, roomy, and not too far from the restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank center2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are in the Monterey area several times a year for business. We have stayed at many different hotels, inns and B&Bs in the area, and were aware of Casa Munras but never had the opportunity to stay there. The a friend, with similar tastes recommended it, so we booked it for this last trip.

Great downtown MRY location. Quaint historic building that have been recently upgraded (interiors). All of the ammenities you would expect in 2013 - free parking, free internet, flat screen TV, coffee maker, luxury bedding and comfy bed, complimentary goodies in the afternoon, nice pool (no hot tub though), restaurant on-site, spa on-site - with more reasonable rates than the large hotel chains who give you less ammenities, or require you to pay for things like parking and internet. Staff was perfectly professional and helpful. Did not have the chance to try the restaurant or spa, but both look quite worthy of a visit or two. The only two small things that were a bit of a negative was that our room was not quiet - we booked very last minute on Priceline, so I was fine with the room - and the shower needed some type of shelf to place the shampoo/conditioner and other toiletries that we gals bring. :)
We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "cozy queen" room and it was a little noisy with single paned windows and being r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newmediasoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Good location is a plus,5 min walk to downtown 10 mins to wharf. Hotel is old but decently maintained,rooms are stuffy but you get what you pay for. Stayed for 3 nights for Big Sur Marathon.Staff were very friendly and accommodating . I wouldn't rely on the concierge for places to eat. He sent me to a steakhouse with only 2 variety of steak in their menu LoL.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apulakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We've been to a number of places that allow our maltapoo, but this was one of the nicest (& cleanest!). There was also a wonderful tapas restaurant with a patio so all of us could enjoy the sumptuous food and gentle evening air. We came for the Big Sur marathon but will return again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeChat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $122 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing