We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are currently staying at the hotel. We bid for our room on priceline and were pleased upon arrival. It's an old hotel complex, lots of small buildings. The rooms have been renovated, but it's still an old hotel. It's clean, well kept, nice beds. The restaurant, lobby, and spa are very nice. room 112 is 10 feet from the edge of the pool, so I'd request a different room. It can get a bit noisy in that room, but it's been fine.

So if you are looking for a really nice value, and don't require a fancy new building, you'll be happy here. The staff has been very nice.

Room Tip: just not the 2 rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatuncle61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Customer service above and beyond expectations! Quiet, clean, comfortable room with, as my wife called them, "Goldilocks" pillows; conveniently located within easy walking distance of a wide variety of restaurants as well as downtown; couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaker6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed Tuesday, 5 Mar 13 --- girlfriend trip. Second night of 14 day adventure trip. After driving for the good part of the afternoon --- entering a comfy, clean and cute room was welcoming! The hotel is older, however, well maintained. We located this hotel via the internet --- and we were pleasantly surprised! Only stayed one night --- loved the hotel, however, did not eat at the hotel's restaurant. We actually ate on the pier at a place called the Sand Bar --- recommended to us from a bartender at Pebble Beach earlier that day. Shops / restaurants did appear to be a good walk, however, doable on a good day. As it was night and a little chilly, we did drive to the pier. Parking on the pier itself did not present a problem. Would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queensabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best bang for your buck in Monterey.
Great staff, awesome happy hour with fun tapas, easy 5 minute drive to the aquarium. Front desk told us about local happenings like the street fair and farmers market, very sweet.
Bathroom was clean and ordinary, room was nice, not too modern where you fear breaking everything nor dated and ugly.
Didn't use the pool but perhaps in the summer if/when we stay again.
Pay the extra fee to upgrade rooms, its nice to have the fireplace and king bed (though the bed was too soft for my taste).
Beautiful Spanish-California landscape, decor and architecture overall, which is important to me on vacation because I want to feel like I'm away (this is also why I don't stay at box hotels on vacation).
Family and pet friendly, but take the kids to Kathy's diner on the street behind for a big, delicious and cheap breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Casa Munras is adjacent to downtown and neighbors many Colonial buildings. On fact, the hotel itself has a genuine Monterey character to it. So, the stay is part of your Monterey experience.

The hotel is wood-structured, so make sure kids are not above your room if you're on ground floor- get a new room if so, otherwise it sounds like you're in a circus. Conversely, if you have kids, get a ground-floor room for Pete's sake!!!

The restaurant is great for dinners especially. If staying multiple nights, make sure one dinner is at Esteban's and another on the wharf, like Isabella's for example.

They advertise a hot tub, but there is not one. (It is part of the spa, not at pool area.).

I do plan on returning to this hotel, I liked it a lot better than most others in the area. Just be careful on rates, they seem to skyrocket on weekends and holidays.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaissanceMan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fresh baked cookies every afternoon, incredibly comfy beds 5 blocks from the beach. Cozy inn in Monterey very close to the Lodge at Pebble beach! Great value. Stayed during thr Pebble Beach Food and Wine Festival. Nice outdoor fire pit, small pool

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a very long day of sales calls and meetings including a business dinner, it was refreshing to get back to my room at Casa Munras and unwind. The room was extremely clean and quiet. After about 30 minutes of closing out my day and a quick shower, I slept like a baby in that incredible King size bed. I actualy could not belief my ears when the alarm went off that i had slept for 7 hours. Went down to the resturant and had a deliscous breakfast that was served hot. The decafe coffee was some of the best i ever tasted and asked what is the brand. All in all I have been telling frienda and colleagues about Casa Munras. Thanks to the friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: My room was number 265 it was very quiet with a quaint fireplace in the room. The King size bed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChopperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-3110 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $132 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing