We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chula Vista, California
1 review
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in the Monterey area but had never stayed here before. We were looking for a place close to downtown and close to our son's home. I checked out the reviews on Casa Munras and although there were a few negative comments for the most part they were good. My husband and I decided to check it out for ourselves. It is true that rooms are small but very cozy and bed was super comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had recently been remodeled. Our room did face the pool but that wasn't a problem because no one was using it. I can see how it would get loud there in the summer. We had a corner room on the second floor and we loved it! They serve an excellent breakfast in their restaurant and we ate there 3 mornings. There is a Denny's across the street and although it was cheaper and they have a much larger menu, we preferred the food and ambiance of the hotel restaurant. Staff in lobby and in restaurant were very friendly and courteous. The location is great because it's very close to downtown and all the historic buildings. They did have a holiday special going so we received a 30% discount on the room which made it very reasonably priced. We stayed there on December 15 - December 19. I would definitely recommend Casa Munras and will stay there again on our next visit to Monterey.

Room Tip: Corner room nice because only 1 room next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our resaturant. Though Esteban is known for its tapas dinner menu, and happy hour, Esteban is one of Monterey's best kept breakfast secrets. I highly reccommend the Spanish Benedict with Tasso Ham, & Chili Hollandaise on a house made Cheddar Cilantro Biscuit. We hope you will stay and dine with us again.Stay posted for our new Breakfast Package coming soon.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    508
    221
    93
    51
See reviews for
307
654
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was in an excellent location and one of the best hotels I stayed in on my 3 week driving tour of California. The check in staff were friendly, informative and overall very helpful - they gave us maps and leaflets and explained things to do in the local area and provided directions. The room was small but clean and recently decorated.... very contemporary. The beds were slightly hard but I suppose that is down to personal preference, I was still able to sleep so it didn't matter. Maids came in and cleaned every day. I would definitely stay here again. It was in walking distance to the town and I really liked the area but the downside was all restaurants and bar including the one in the hotel closed at 10pm. Free cookies and newspapers were provided to guests :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am very happy to hear that the Casa Munras was one of the best hotels you stayed in during your three weeks in California. All of our front desk staff are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to provide our guests with concierge services. Though we do not have an ocean view, our location is very convenient to downtown Monterey, Fishermans Wharf and the convention center. Please come back and see us again, or for an ocean view try one of our sister properties on Cannery Row: The Monterey Bay Inn or Spindrift Inn.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise with just a couple of notes. First off, there is a spa on the property. I didn't visit it, but the menu of services offered seemed divine. I was on a work assignment and simply didn't have time. There is a tapas restaurant there called Tapas as well. The hotel has several buildings situated on the property--it looks like a quaint apartment complex. Hanging flowers drape over the overhangs along the buildings. Doors to the rooms face outside, not in a hallway, but I never once felt threatened or unsafe. Since there is a wall around the property, the only people to come in there were guests. I had a room with a fireplace and it was homey and nice. The only thing I didn't like was that the work space was tucked on a side wall not facing or able to face the rest of the room. The room had an old musty smell, but I opened the windows completely and the smell was diminished greatly.

Everything in the room was in working order (I hate when the toilet doesn't flush right--just a big bug-a-boo of mine). It was a comfortable bed, and the spa robes they furnished in the room were luxuriously wonderful.

I would stay here again. Everything in downtown Monterey is within walking distance. Don't miss the farmer's market on Alvarado Street on Tuesday afternoons/evenings. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe King and if you book through their website, consider the upgrade option they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying at Casa Munras. I am pleased to hear that you felt our property to be safe and well maintained and that you enjoyed the robes and fireplace in your room. It sounds like you had a great time at the farmers market. Its definitely a must do on Tuesdays and we try to tell all of our guests about it at check in. Thank you for your reccommendation, and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Centrale located within a short walk to restaurants and downtown. Decent restaurant with tapas and drinks. Parking is tight. Stayed twice within 2 weeks of each other. Once in back building that faced out on Cass St and other in heart of the property. If you have a choice pick the former. Room in the middle of the hotel is tiny. Overall enjoyed our stays.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent stay at the Casa Munras. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location. We are just a short walk down Alvardo St. to the Fishermans Wharf. There are a number or great restaurant and stores just steps from the Casa Munras. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This a great location and within walking distance to everything. Always clean and the grounds are laid back and more like home. The staff are always friendly, professional and helpful. A good value for the price in general. It's a great couples get away as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. Cozy is a great description for the Casa Munras. We have over 50 rooms with fireplaces, which adds to the coziness especially in the winter. To truly combat winter weariness, throw on a plush robe and visit Sano Spa for a winter relaxation treatment, and a dip in the outdoor jacuzzi located in the spa garden. Thank you again for recommending us. Please come back and stay with us again, Monterey is a great place to visit year-round.


Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Casa Munras provided the base for a relaxing getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves delicious food. We LOVED our concierge king room! It was spacious, had high ceilings, HUGE bathroom area with the toilet and shower (with five shower heads) separate from the sink, counter, and large soaking tub. There are plenty of storage drawers and shelves, and a mini fridge and coffee maker. The fireplace is cozy and the bed is so comfy.

Upon arrival they brought a complimentary cucumber and melon infused water to our room--refreshing. They also have other complimentary infused water and mexican coffee in the lobby. You can check out DVDs to watch on the player in your room. They rent bicycles for the day ($25). This hotel is within walking distance of Old Town Monterey and about a half mile to the beach and fisherman's wharf. Great location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Casa Munras Hotel for your relaxing getaway. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Concierge King Room, and our tapas restaurant Esteban. Next time you will have to complete the experience with a body treatment or facial at Sano Spa. Thanks again for your reccommendation.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Loved the Spanish hacienda style of the hotel & particularly the great outdoor areas around open fire places. With just one night to explore Monterey it was great to be able to walk to the waterfront & the pier.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying and for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you felt the Spanish Hacienda influences while staying here at Casa Munras. As you may already be aware, Casa Munras was originally the residence of the last Spanish diplomat to California Don Esteban Munras back in 1824. There also are a number of other historic buildings along Montereys Path of History just steps from the hotel. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing