We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, no view but you can't have it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely room, no view but you can't have it all!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was in an excellent location and one of the best hotels I stayed in on my 3 week driving tour of California. The check in staff were friendly, informative and overall very helpful - they gave us maps and leaflets and explained things to do in the local area and provided directions. The room was small but clean and recently decorated.... very contemporary. The beds were slightly hard but I suppose that is down to personal preference, I was still able to sleep so it didn't matter. Maids came in and cleaned every day. I would definitely stay here again. It was in walking distance to the town and I really liked the area but the downside was all restaurants and bar including the one in the hotel closed at 10pm. Free cookies and newspapers were provided to guests :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am very happy to hear that the Casa Munras was one of the best hotels you stayed in during your three weeks in California. All of our front desk staff are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to provide our guests with concierge services. Though we do not have an ocean view, our location is very convenient to downtown Monterey, Fishermans Wharf and the convention center. Please come back and see us again, or for an ocean view try one of our sister properties on Cannery Row: The Monterey Bay Inn or Spindrift Inn.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    521
    227
    95
    52
See reviews for
323
672
63
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise with just a couple of notes. First off, there is a spa on the property. I didn't visit it, but the menu of services offered seemed divine. I was on a work assignment and simply didn't have time. There is a tapas restaurant there called Tapas as well. The hotel has several buildings situated on the property--it looks like a quaint apartment complex. Hanging flowers drape over the overhangs along the buildings. Doors to the rooms face outside, not in a hallway, but I never once felt threatened or unsafe. Since there is a wall around the property, the only people to come in there were guests. I had a room with a fireplace and it was homey and nice. The only thing I didn't like was that the work space was tucked on a side wall not facing or able to face the rest of the room. The room had an old musty smell, but I opened the windows completely and the smell was diminished greatly.

Everything in the room was in working order (I hate when the toilet doesn't flush right--just a big bug-a-boo of mine). It was a comfortable bed, and the spa robes they furnished in the room were luxuriously wonderful.

I would stay here again. Everything in downtown Monterey is within walking distance. Don't miss the farmer's market on Alvarado Street on Tuesday afternoons/evenings. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe King and if you book through their website, consider the upgrade option they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying at Casa Munras. I am pleased to hear that you felt our property to be safe and well maintained and that you enjoyed the robes and fireplace in your room. It sounds like you had a great time at the farmers market. Its definitely a must do on Tuesdays and we try to tell all of our guests about it at check in. Thank you for your reccommendation, and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Centrale located within a short walk to restaurants and downtown. Decent restaurant with tapas and drinks. Parking is tight. Stayed twice within 2 weeks of each other. Once in back building that faced out on Cass St and other in heart of the property. If you have a choice pick the former. Room in the middle of the hotel is tiny. Overall enjoyed our stays.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and your recent stay at the Casa Munras. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location. We are just a short walk down Alvardo St. to the Fishermans Wharf. There are a number or great restaurant and stores just steps from the Casa Munras. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This a great location and within walking distance to everything. Always clean and the grounds are laid back and more like home. The staff are always friendly, professional and helpful. A good value for the price in general. It's a great couples get away as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. Cozy is a great description for the Casa Munras. We have over 50 rooms with fireplaces, which adds to the coziness especially in the winter. To truly combat winter weariness, throw on a plush robe and visit Sano Spa for a winter relaxation treatment, and a dip in the outdoor jacuzzi located in the spa garden. Thank you again for recommending us. Please come back and stay with us again, Monterey is a great place to visit year-round.


Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Casa Munras provided the base for a relaxing getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves delicious food. We LOVED our concierge king room! It was spacious, had high ceilings, HUGE bathroom area with the toilet and shower (with five shower heads) separate from the sink, counter, and large soaking tub. There are plenty of storage drawers and shelves, and a mini fridge and coffee maker. The fireplace is cozy and the bed is so comfy.

Upon arrival they brought a complimentary cucumber and melon infused water to our room--refreshing. They also have other complimentary infused water and mexican coffee in the lobby. You can check out DVDs to watch on the player in your room. They rent bicycles for the day ($25). This hotel is within walking distance of Old Town Monterey and about a half mile to the beach and fisherman's wharf. Great location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Casa Munras Hotel for your relaxing getaway. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Concierge King Room, and our tapas restaurant Esteban. Next time you will have to complete the experience with a body treatment or facial at Sano Spa. Thanks again for your reccommendation.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunras.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Loved the Spanish hacienda style of the hotel & particularly the great outdoor areas around open fire places. With just one night to explore Monterey it was great to be able to walk to the waterfront & the pier.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying and for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you felt the Spanish Hacienda influences while staying here at Casa Munras. As you may already be aware, Casa Munras was originally the residence of the last Spanish diplomat to California Don Esteban Munras back in 1824. There also are a number of other historic buildings along Montereys Path of History just steps from the hotel. Please come back and see us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@hotelcasamunra.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay recently and look forward to our next visit. The room was cozy and comfortable. The pillows were amazing... Would love to know what kind they are to get some for home! We also loved swimming in the heated pool, perfect even in the rainy weather.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you are already looking forward to your next stay at Casa Munras. Our pool is nice and toasty year round so I'm glad you enjoyed it despite the rainy weather. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our pillows. They are part of our Featherborne bedding package, which I completely agree is amazing. If you're like me and you want to bring them home with you we'd be happy to help. Please feel free to give me a call or send me an email and I can give you some more information.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
(831)-233-7902
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing