We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here. in a Cozy Queen, which there were come complaints about. Nothing to complain about here. We were traveling from NY, and didn't see anything wrong with our room at all. How often are you staying in there? It was perfect for us. Great location, and the staff was friendly. Loved being able to walk right down to Fisherman's Wharf, but not staying so close. Also very easy to hop in the car and drive to other destinations such as Cannery Row or 17 Mile Drive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for staying and for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cozy Queen room. Though it is not our most spacious room, it is certainly charming and easy on the travel budget. All of our rooms have some signature perks such as a very comfortable Featherborne bed and Lather bath and body products. Please come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
There are newer reviews for Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel. I can't eave enough about our experience. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff everyone was friendly and accommodating. The Sanity spa did.not disappoint nor did the on site Restaurant Esteban (Sangria was the highlite). We have stayed in many hotels in Monterey and this far exceeded all the others. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your rave review. I am so glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the hotel but the spa and restaurant as well. We are proud to be your favorite hotel in Monterey and look forward to turning you into a repeat customer. If you havent already, I highly reccommend registering for Stash Rewards so that you can earn points on your stays with us.


Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are charming and comfortable. The bathroom in our suite was not immaculate and when we brought it to the attention of the front desk they immediately gave us a small credit towards our stay. They also allowed us to have 2 rooms with the cpsecond at half price. The pool area is lovely and the on site restaurant excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am very happy to hear that you had a "Great Stay" at the Casa Munras. Thank you for mentioning our Family Promotion, it's actually one of our best kept secrets. When you reserve one room at the regular full price, you can get a second room of equal value at half price. It's perfect for families traveling for the holidays.

Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I were wanting to get a weekend away and we chose Monterey. Casa Munras was centrally located. Couldn't see ocean but we could walk downtown and to Cannery Row if you wanted to get in a nice long walk. Rooms were not quite like they looked in picture, small but they were clean. We had a nice fire place. Spa was great although the waterfall hot tub they talk about is nothing like they make it sound.

Room Tip: If you use Spa make sure you have them go over all the charges. We received a few surprises when we...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinW104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you had a positive experience at the Casa Munras Hotel and Spa. I noticed you mentioned something about the charges on your spa bill, if this has not been resolved or explained to your satisfaction please be sure to let us know. Our spa director is Lauren Itson and her email is litson@larkspurhotels.com.

Sincerely,
Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location 30 years ago. Our room had been updated, it had a flat screen TV, fire place, and the most COMFORTABLE bed we have ever slept on. The bathroom was average size. The room was comfortable, clean, but not very large. But it did meet our needs. You are located near a busy street and you will hear the am and pm commute traffic (if the window is open) for a couple hours, but it does die down at night. If you book a unit in the rear of the complex, it will be even more quiet. We were a 10 minute drive from the aquarium. Dennys and other eating establishments are close by. We were able to check in early, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay at this location again

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the complex, and for a upstairs unit.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you so much for returning to the casa munras after 30 years. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our signature Featherborne bedding. It's great to hear from guests who remember the hotel from years ago. In fact we had another couple recently who stayed with us for their honeymoon 50 years ago (when you could get a room for $20 a night), and just came back to celebrate their anniversary. Always makes me smile. Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you sooner next time.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Clean and spacious rooms. We had a room with a fireplace, which was very nice, but it was hot in Monterey, so we did not use it much. The restaurant (Esteban) was very nice but pricey. It is within walking distance to the downtown area and Cannery Row. Great staff, nice pool and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winelover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Deluxe King with Fireplace room. The weather is cooling off a bit now and the fireplace is a great addition in the evening. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ok it's not a five star but the price is right. The staff are very helpfull and friendly. The hotel has a nice historic look with modern feel.I have been going her for the last 25 years and it's imporves with age. Very cozy and that's what we look for. The service can't be beat as they go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: I'm not giving away my secret as I will never be able to book my favorite quiet room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and for your continued loyalty to the Casa Munras Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the changes to the Casa Munras over the years. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $148 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Old Town Monterey, the historic Casa Munras Hotel & Spa holds the distinction of being the first hotel in Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, the hacienda-inspired design of this charming property embraces the California outdoors with relaxed, expansive grounds, creating a captivating environment for warm, welcoming accommodations. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing