We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Villa Franca Inn(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$341
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$156
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
$92
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveler rating
546
550
236
101
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
550
236
101
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapas restaurantwild plumcannery rowfire pitheated poolfisherman's wharfon site restaurantalvarado streetfree parkingdowntown montereyfitness centerbed was very comfortablemain buildingnice stayking roommile drivethe room was nice
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When traveling through Monterey, we decided to stay at Casa Munras. We had heard the restaurant, Esteban, had a great tapas happy hour.
We got a room in the back. Parking was a bit of a problem for a motel where you park in front of your door. When we went out later in the evening, we had to park a couple of aisles away from where our room was in a dark parking lot. In high heels, it was a bit of a trek.
Our room was small but charming. Think B&B instead of hotel. The bathroom was in need of a remodel but had good products stocked.
The bed was comfy. We didn't watch tv in the room because the tv was really close to the bed and there was no where else in the room to sit and see it.
When I got dressed for the evening, it was difficult to see in the mirror to make sure my outfit was ok.
Esteban is definitely a happening place with cheap tapas prices at Happy Hour. Great service too! Outside seating with heaters when it's cool out is a nice feature.
The pool area is a bit 60's motor court looking but we didn't use it.
Casa Munras is perfectly servicable but not as special as I had hoped.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, and for choosing the Casa Munras Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Happy Hour so much. Apart from our regular menu and happy hour our restaurant also hosts some really exciting special events such as Paella making classes on the patio and wine pairing dinners. Coming up next we have a three course Thanksgiving menu. I hope you will come back and stay/dine with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel in Monterey, CA is perfectly located walking distance to the downtown area, the wharf and Peets Coffee and Trader Joes. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and welcoming. I love Esteban, the on-site restaurant, for their happy hour offering. The rooms are comfortable and I get down/feather pillows - a plus! The Fitness Center (accessible 24 hrs with room key) is always clean and stocked with towels, fresh fruit, cleaning wipes for the equipment and cold water. I stay here many times a year when I come to the area for business. Thank you Casa Munras for creating such a fabulous hotel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Casa Munras. It is truly a pleasure to hear from satisfied repeat guests. Thank you so much for your kind review, and we look forward to the next opportunity to have you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
www.hotelcasamunras.com
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

To be honest I was expecting more from this "hotel". Its not really a hotel more of a glorified motel. The interior is dated no flat screen tv!! For the price I would have expected all mod cons there wasn't even a fridge to put your drinks in, or a safe for your valuables. If I had been staying longer than one night I would have reconsidered my choice. It wasn't expensive as such but I feel there are other hotels in the same price bracket offering better facilities. The location was ok within walking distance to fishermans wharf and Lots of restaurants and bars. There's free parking too which is a plus. Overall I expected more from this hotel but it wasnt the worst. Like the title says average.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaliaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for staying and for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the Casa Munras was just alright, and not exceptional. We appreciate your feedback regarding the safe, refrigerator, and TV and truly take our guest's suggestions to heart. In fact we are just fininshing up with installing safes in all of our guest rooms. We also provide a refrigerator in all of our guest rooms with the exceptional of our Cozy Queen room. Refrigerators are also available for delivery to guests staying in Cozy Queen rooms upon request at no additional cost. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we would love the opportunity to improve upon your experience here. Should your travels bring you back to Monterey we hope that you will consider the Casa Munras Hotel.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with a warm welcome then look no further - even the rooms are equipped with a warm log fire. We only stayed for two nights but the customer service provided by the reception team, the staff we met in the restaurant, and the room service were warm, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped and the log fire and fireplace made it feel cosy and homely. Happy hour in the evening in the restaurant gave you the opportunity to sample a selection of canapes at very reasonable prices and you either eat outside in a really attractively landscaped patio area with a log pit or inside in the restaurant - we tried both and we're impressed with the food and ambience. We didn't get the opportunity to sample the facilities - nice-sized swimming pool, well-equipped gym and spa with hot tub - but they looked good. The hotel is well placed within Monterey and if you want a good breakfast don't miss The Wild Plum across the street - good value for excellent food. The hotel offers free parking and free wifi, the reception has a small business area for all computing and printing needs and a small shopping area for essentials you might have forgotten. Would I recommend it ... without hesitation!

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was located near the swimming pool with parking right outside. We were very pleased with the style, cleanliness and comfort of the room and bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for staying and for the time and consideration that went into your review. We truly appreciate it. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here, from the greeting at the front desk to the fireplace room and Tapas for dinner. Next time give our restaurant a try for breakfast as well, my favorite dish is the Spanish Benedict, it wont disapoint. We look forward to having you stay again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Casa Munras for one night as part of our road trip from San Francisco to LA. The rooms are located in various blocks motel style with ample parking. The room that we had was exceptionally large with excellent facilities. We did not use the hotel restaurant as the hotel is located only a short walk from the Main Street in downtown Monterey and marina so choose to walk out and we felt very safe in the area. The hotel could be described as slightly tired in places but we felt that this is reflected in the price. An excellent find. Reception check in was easy and staff were very helpful to us in terms of where to walk, how to get to The Cannery etc.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area but we would suggest in summer months you may wish to be away from the pool as it is open 9am to 9.00pm so could be noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for staying and for your review. I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value. We have some excellent specials running through the end of the year. I highly reccommend our Indulge package which includes your room, a $50 spa credit, and a $40 restaurant credit. Prices start as low as $139 weekday and $179 weekend. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Monterey that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews