We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Casa Munras for one night as part of our road trip from San Francisco to LA. The rooms are located in various blocks motel style with ample parking. The room that we had was exceptionally large with excellent facilities. We did not use the hotel restaurant as the hotel is located only a short walk from the Main Street in downtown Monterey and marina so choose to walk out and we felt very safe in the area. The hotel could be described as slightly tired in places but we felt that this is reflected in the price. An excellent find. Reception check in was easy and staff were very helpful to us in terms of where to walk, how to get to The Cannery etc.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet area but we would suggest in summer months you may wish to be away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying and for your review. I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value. We have some excellent specials running through the end of the year. I highly reccommend our Indulge package which includes your room, a $50 spa credit, and a $40 restaurant credit. Prices start as low as $139 weekday and $179 weekend. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Monterey that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    513
    223
    95
    52
See reviews for
313
661
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staying at Casa Munras was good for my family for an overnighter whilst visiting Monterey Bay Aquarium. The hotel is located 3 minutes from Trader Joes and about 5 minutes from cantral Monterey so convenient to walk to dinner. The rooms where simple furnished and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying at the Casa Munras. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. There are some exciting holiday events coming up that are also an easy walk from the hotel. Christmas in the Adobes is a very festive tour at the beginning of December that showcases 23 historic adobe buildings that surround Casa Munras, and First Night Monterey which is a New Years eve celebration of the arts right here in downtown Monterey. Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is arranged as a motel with halls outdoors in multiple two story buildings. My room was clean, comfortable, and good amenities. The immediate location is just OK, across the street from a 24/7 open Denny's and two blocks from the city transit center. Just beyond the transit center is the center of town/business district where I found a Farmer's Market on Wednesday evening. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lman-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I truly appreciate you mentioning that the front desk staff were very helpful. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again.
Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel and Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We are frequent travelers. We stopped in this place for one night, between longer stays in Yosemite and Big Sur. We had a great welcome at the reception. Then, we discovered our very small room with no cooling system. We were told that AC was not necessary in Monterey but that period of the year was more hot than usual... We were given a fan to cool the room. The restaurant looked friendly: we decided to go for diner. The service was really poor: long waiting, wrong orders, staff not well trained. We told the manager our deception. We were given a $25 discount for the next breakfast... that we didn't use... We were just in the mood to move somewhere else... This was our only bad spot in our choice of hotels in 12 days spent in California.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toujoursavacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your stay and feedback. I am truly regretful that you did not enjoy our hotel and restaurant. Due to our coastal climate, many hotels in Monterey do not have air conditioning. We did have some days towards the beginning of this month when the temperature soared to over 80 degrees which is very unusual for Monterey. I truly apologize for the effect this had on your stay with us, and if the fan was not sufficient in cooling your room. Additionally thank you for bringing your concerns regarding the restaurant to the managers attention. I am very sorry that you were not able to take us up on the complimentary breakfast offer as we would have appreciated the opportunity to try to make it up to you. Should you care to discuss your stay further, please do not hesistate to give me a call or send an email.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
(831)-233-7902
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this "hotel" for one night (September 15th) during a road trip from Vancouver BC to Los Angeles. We were sadly disappointed. Our room smelled musty, that's once we were able to get the door open. My husband had to force it with his shoulder, and in the morning had to wrench it back open. The hotel staff seemed unconcerned when we informed them of this at checkout the next morning. Having stayed at a Larkspur Hotel in San Francisco, Casa Munras did not measure up. It was no better than a roadside motel at a four star price. We will definitely skip it on our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandDee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your road trip. I am very sorry to hear that our hotel was not one of the highlights of your vacation. Thank you for letting us know about the issue that you experienced with your door sticking. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you and that the front desk did not sufficiently acnowledge your concern. Should you care to discuss your stay any further or if you would consider staying with us again please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a great 3 day stay. Great location, you can easy walk down-town. Leave you car at the room.Good tapa's restaurant at the hotel. Bar has good drinks at great prices. So good, I forgot my credit card, and they had it in a safe for me the next day when we checked out,thanks.

Room Tip: Lower level with the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and choosing the Casa Munras for your 40th anniversary stay. I am so glad tohear you enjoyed your expereince with our hotel and restaurant. Please come back and stay with us again.


Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For a quick business trip to Monterey, Casa Munras was a great solution. I upgraded my room online to a 2nd Floor Concierge suite - not as fancy as it sounds, but high-ceilinged, very comfy and spacious with a fantastic shower and cute little fireplace. This hotel, along with it's across-the-street-neighbor Hotel Abrego, is perfectly located in Monterey. Both are easy walking distance to downtown Old Town, the wharf and Cannery Row. Unlike Abrego, Casa Munras has a full service restaurant and bar, Estéban's, that may count as one of the best eateries in town. I've stayed at both Hotel Abrego and Casa Munras in the past 3 months, and won't hesitate to choose Casa Munras next time around.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room right on the parking lot as it can be very noisy early in the am. 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrinajs, Front Office Manager at Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for reviewing our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Concierge King as well as our restaurant Esteban. We hope to have you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Monterey.

Sincerely,

Sabrina Siino
Front Office Manager
Casa Munras Hotel & Spa
ssiino@larkspurhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing