We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent the weekend at the Casa Munras hotel and found that this hotel is a wonderful get away while visiting Monterey. Just two blocks from downtown Monterey, yet located on a quite side street.

The rooms were very well presented and maintained. The on-site restaurant was a Tapas (Spainish) theme and was very good. We received free breakfasts in the morning and they were also very good. If you wanted to dine else where, locate restaurants were in abundant just a short walking distant away. After dinner you could walk downtown Monterey and explore the many little shops and clubs.

I recommend this hotel to anyone who might be visiting the Monterey area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    513
    223
    95
    52
See reviews for
313
661
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Just returned from a 2-day stay at Casa Munras. The photos on the internet make this hotel appear updated and fresh. Our room was very old and the carpet was disgustingly dirty. Their renovation process of just slapping a coat of paint on the walls and installing gas fireplaces. The hotel is a definite Motel that was renovated by adding spa services to raise prices of the room. The rooms itself are small. We had a king suite which was extremely small. The best part was right across the street is a cafe called, The Wild Plum Cafe & Bakery. The most fabulous breakfast restaurant in Monterrey! The only reason I would come back to this hotel is the convenience of walking across the street to eat the Wild Plum Cafe. All in all...for a room that is almost $280 per night...you would expect more than old dirty carpets and dirty window sills. Out of fairness, I must say they had wonderful customer service!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room and bring slippers so not to walk on the dirty carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Good rooms although small compared to usual standards but lovely and clean. Good bathroom. Pool was warm, clean and adequate. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. Didn't like Monterey much as it all seemed a bit 'plastic' and was not particuarly friendly atmosphere when walking about. Although we had a good meal on the harbour which was picturesque. Would have preferred to stay in Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you like sleeping with the A/C then do not stay here. There is no a/c which I think should have been highlighted on the website. If we had known that we would not have stayed. They did have fans but it was still a bit hot and uncomfortable in the room. Also the bed was SMALL!!! I was super uncomfortable sleeping since we are used to king sized beds and this was a double at best. The bathroom was kind of grody too. No free breakfast but the internet was free which was 1 plus. The outside of the hotel is really pretty and the bar looked great. We walked down to Cannery Row which was a bit of a hike, like 30 minute walk but it was very pretty. Cannery Row was very neat to see but next time I would have stayed much closer to it. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: No A/C! Make sure to call for Fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We enjoyed staying here. The rooms were clean and had good facilities and free parking. It was very busy but still quiet and relaxing. We tried the tapas restaurant which was a bit expensive compared to other local restaurants but food good and a very attentive waiter. Free internet, coffee and newspapers. A good location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBigpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We're at the hotel now, so I decided to try to figure out how this motel got a 3-star hotel rating. It must be because there is a spa and restaurant. Our room is comfortable, though nothing special; renovating a motel doesn't turn it into a hotel. While it's nice to heat the seagulls, you also hear everyone who walks by the room, service carts, garbage trucks in the morning, any conversation nearby. Bathrooms are small and basic and sadly, the smells from there saturate the room too. Bring matches. TVs are flatscreen, but old. Universal remote doesn't allow using any features. We cannot turn off the captioning or access the timer. For out 2-night stay, we change rooms this morning because they didn't have a room with 2 bed available both nights. Grounds are nice. The pool is too small for the size of the property.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a quiet room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camdonsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The good; the location was great the bed was comfortable and the sheet were clean and new. The service was good and I only paid $90.00 dollars a night. I would have been real disappointed it I had paid much more for the room.

The bad; the room was small and needed to be updated. The carpet was sticky and turned my feet black. The bathroom had mold and was very small. The room was also not quiet, you could hear your neighbors talk.

Room Tip: ask for one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: 700 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940 (Formerly Casa Munras, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
#22 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Authentic. Historic Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the Old-Town heart of the picturesque coastal town of Monterey. True to its Spanish heritage, this hacienda-inspired hotel embraces its outdoor spaces while beckoning guests to the warm comforts of their living quarters. A short stroll to Historic Old Monterey or the world famous Fisherman's Wharf, Casa Munras Hotel & Spa is ideally located near many of the Central California region's most visited attractions - coastal California at its best. Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa strives to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Whether traveling on business or enjoying a well-deserved vacation, the Casa Munras Hotel & Spa offers a wide array of amenities to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Guests can "sip, savor and share" Spanish-inspired tapas at the hotel's on-property restaurant, Estéban Restaurant. Serving traditional dishes with a pinch of adventure, Estéban Restaurant is the ideal place for a sit down dinner or socializing with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Casa Munras
Larkspur Collection Monterey
Casa Munras Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing