We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the budget minded travel”

Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for the budget minded travel”
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Room was clean, bedd average, bathroom clean but not well appointed. Overall the room was okay for the price but you can find same experience cheaper. desk cleck was friendly enough. Nothing wrong, very basic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfingslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angieb520, Owner at Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street, responded to this review, March 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will continue to keep our hotel affordable and clean for the budget minded travelers. Feedback from our guests are always welcome and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    42
    22
    20
See reviews for
30
47
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
anaheim
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We have a bad situation next door.We panic that we won't be able to find a room on friday night aApril 24.
It's was late at night and the gentleman that help us was nice and helpful. He did't mind all our question even that it's was late at night.
He even open the breakfas 15 minutes early in the morning for us.
great staff. kind and friendly at check out the front desk was very nice too. Its hard to find friendly people this days.
Great value. fantastic

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menragaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Don't get this place confused with the Quality Inn on Munras (which is a LOT better). The rooms were average and service marginal. We weren't expecting anything fancy at this price. Around 3am, we heard someone knocking on our door. NO way we were going to open it because this wasn't the best part of town. Lots of strange folks in parking lot and walking around. Big pet peeve- lack of parking spaces. If you get back later at night, you may not get a space in the lot and have to park on the neighboring streets which is scary. Avoid motels at this end of Fremont Street if you can. There is nothing down here of interest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

This property didn't get the best reviews on TripAdvisor, but we were trying to stay within a budget for our travels and booked a room for three nights. There are a number of reasonably priced motels all along Fremont Street, and we should have picked one of the other ones, as this one was a huge disappointment.

The property is run down, poorly maintained and our room was just plain dirty. There seemed to be a shortage of staff ... one or two people were trying to cover all bases. One day, we returned to our room at about 5:00 p.m., to find that the housekeeping staff had not yet gotten to cleaning our room.

Everything about this place was underwhelming, and we won't be back. Unless budget is a big issue with you, I'd recommend the Quality Inn on Munras ... it's more expensive, but definitely a better experience.

  • Liked — Location - near my family
  • Disliked — Dirty, run down and quesionable clientelle
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

After a horrific episode at the El Castello across the road and an 11pm flit with 2 small children the Quality Inn was fantastic. Clean, nice bedding, friendly staff, decent breakfast everything you could want when travelling on a budget. A quality 2 star choice.

  • Liked — cleanliness and bedding
  • Disliked — pool was out or order for refit
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vickiandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Our first problem is that the hotel says that it is on Fremont Street but they are actually on North Freemont Street. This means that the hotels address doesn't really exist - and our GPS system confirmed that. When we called the hotel to ask directions we couldn't understand a thing the receptionist said. And what we did understand was not very helpful. When we finally arrived we found that the receptionist had both an accent and a cold.

The positives of the room were that it was quite large and was actually divided into two rooms. There was a separate little kitchenette and table. I appreciated that there were two TVs (one in each room) even if they weren't of the best quality.

The hotel's overall appearance was that of a motel. The room was kind of damp and musty. The interior of the rooms was not reflective of those pictured on the website. The furniture was mismatched and I did not want my bare feet touching the carpet. It felt like all the furniture was picked up from a tag sale 10 years ago, shoved into the room, and hadn't been updated since. The bathroom was extremely bare and outdated. I guess my biggest gripe about the place was that I didn't feel clean.

The other people at the hotel were kind of sketchy. There was a whole group of people congregated on the railing of the second floor talking loudly when we came home from dinner and they didn't seem to break up. We also heard frequent footsteps (was someone running???) through the ceiling.

The breakfast room was so small I could barely maneuver around the people sitting down at the table. It was the basic cold breakfast, nothing special.

  • Liked — The price ($70)
  • Disliked — Musty run-down rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anfdiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

Ok, first the good things:

I liked the room and a little kitchenette area that was separated from the room by a partial wall. The kitchennette had a small fridge, a microwave and a sink, as well as a table with two 2 chairs. Lots of sun in the kitchenette area because of the big window/ balcony (nice!)

Negative things:

1) The bathtub and especially the toilet were not very clean, the bathtub was scratched.
2) The people at the reception are not particularly friendly (not rude,though). There were not always around - I had to wait for 15 minutes to check out next morning - the receptionist (the owner?) went to walk her dog!! She did not even apologize for making me and 3 other people wait, even after I confronted her about it.
3) The walls ARE thin, but I think it is the problem with most motels.
So basically, I'd stay again if the owners/receptionist were friendlier, and the bathroom were cleaner.

  • Liked — sunny kitchenett, room, easy to find
  • Disliked — attitude of owners, bathroom not very clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank silver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#52 of 56 in Monterey
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 56 in Monterey
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey
Motel 6 Monterey
#51 of 56 in Monterey
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street

Property: Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
Address: 2075 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street Hotel Monterey
Quality Inn Fremont Street
Monterey Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing