We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make New Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make New Friends”
Reviewed August 13, 2010

When we checked in at the Best Western Victorian Inn, we were suprised and pleased to learn that there was a wine and cheese reception from 4-6 PM daily. The wine, cheese, crackers, and fruit were all tasty and fresh. Best of all we sat at a table with vacationers from around the world and swapped tips on visiting the Aquarium, other places to see, and even phone numbers. After spending days on the road, it was a lively, interesting stop! The only drawback was the "hidden" parking fee, but hey, it's in the city.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 58709Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    632
    154
    50
    25
See reviews for
487
875
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Everyone of the staff was beautiful. just 1 thing. the first night there the police was out side on the street with a PA...took us out of our sleep. so make sure to stay in a room in the back. as for the rest of the time. It is one of the nices place to stay there. eautiful clean, friendly. they are great cooks too. If you need somethng in your room. it's there right away.

In our group we had our dog ( DELMATION ) , GRANDSON, AND HUSBAND. This is a wonderful place to stay with dogs.

I was there for business looking for beautiful places to stay with out of the USA companies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaSurfLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This stay exceeded all my expectations! The hotel was great! The rooms were nice, they have a nice breakfast, and wine and cheese in the evenings, but I must say that the best part of my stay though, was the service. I travel very frequently for work so I have stayed in lots of hotels. The service at this hotel was probably the best I've ever received. I would definitely recommend this hotel; they really go above and beyond. Also the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseysmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania/VA
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I've read that some other Monterey hotel was chosen for the most romantic USA hotel of the year. After our stay at Victorian Inn I can say- that's not true.
The most romantic hotel is VICTORIAN INN :-) we loved our room with fireplace and a balcony. The Inn is not on the waterfront but it's also not on the busiest Monterey street like others, so we could still hear seagulls and enjoy music (CD with Chopin's music was a nice addition to all usual things you can find in hotel room) in the silence of the evening and coziness of our fireplace.
2 minor "minus" things- Internet didn't connect in the room although it had to, and there was only coffee, no tea in the room. We could use lobby computer for Internet and get tea from hotel's bar though.
Breakfast was included in room price and we were very satisfied with it. I think the menu could satisfy almost everyone's needs.

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank PanduteDigitalArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Added bonus is tea time and breakfast in the palor! Parking was a bonus as well with easy walk into the sites in Monteray.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lscimeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I had read good things about this place and was much looking forward to staying there, but we were greeted with rude service and a request to pay extra for parking. We decided to just park on the street instead, which was fine. The seagulls made a lot of noise during the night, apparently dropping something on the roof at one point. The hotel leaves a basket of snacks in the room with exorbitant prices ($2.50 for a regular size m&ms!), in case you get hungry in the middle of the night. It was also clearly marked that if you leave with a pillow or blanket you will be charged for them, with varying prices for each item a guest might run off with. And a 20% surcharge was added when we checked in to cover any of these possibilities. I understand it's an expensive area, but the hotel was pricey for us, and we thought we would be treated to a nice experience, not have our pockets picked at every turn. I was insulted that they thought we would steal the pillows, and also at the insult to our intelligence that we would pay 2.5 times the normal price for candy rather than run out to the store. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kino01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband, myself and our Chow mix Ella stayed at this hotel just this past weekend. The room was simple but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is very pet friendly and the staff is really great and helpful. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is very close to Cannery Row and the Aquarium and there are quite a few dining choices within walking distance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing