We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean and comfortable room, responsive staff, pets allowed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

4th time we staid here because the parking is more reasonable than other hotels and it is walking distance to Aquarium, Cannery Row, Beach, and favorite restaurants. Great escape for hot summer climates.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,547 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

The Victorian Inn is just one block up from Cannery Row and you can walk to everything! Even though we paid the lowest price, our room was on the top floor and the small balcony allowed us to see a peek of the bay and sit out and enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean. Each room had a fireplace and featherbed and in-room coffee. The wine/cheese hour, while minimal, is a nice touch. Same with the breakfast. Considering the price of a restaurant meal in the area, it's nice to kick off the day with a free breakfast. We would definitely stay here again. The one drawback is the $12 additional charge per day for parking. However, we arrived early in the morning (waaaay before check-in) and they had no problem with us parking there. The same for the day we left. We checked out at 11am, but left the car there until much later that night before heading home.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outofideas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My wife and I, 13 year old son, twin 3 year old daughters.........

Generally we enjoyed our stay and our suite. For nearly $300 per night (plus $12 per night parking) however, we would have preferred better quality bath towels, a shower that did not leak/spray water onto the floor and a hair dryer that was operational. The TVs in the rooms had questionable reception on several of the channels however we weren't there to watch TV so this wasn't much of an issue. The welcoming wine and chocolate was a nice touch however as we're a non-drinking family we brought the wine home to a family member. Perhaps a choice could be made at reservation time? My wife did not care for the bed however I didn't have a problem with it. There's no A/C in the rooms and fans would have helped - we did not ask for them however and they may be available. They put us on the second floor - we have twin 3 year old daughters that made noise as they ran around the room, certainly, I'm sure, affecting the quality of stay for those below us despite our best efforts to keep our kids quiet. We're new to travel as a whole family and that's something we'll be on the look out for in the future and had not considered until then. The front desk could be better informed about local dining spots however that might be as much a function of their young age as anything and certainly there's other ways to check out local spots. It's always helpful to have a little local "in" though. The room itself was very nice, and we appreciated the various points of access, particularly the proximity to breakfast. The complimentary breakfast layout was nice too, especially in terms of variety for my family. Also, the location was good - plenty close enough to walk to the aquarium and Cannery Row and, if you don't mind a bit of a trek, close enough too to Fisherman's Wharf. I think addressing some or all of the above would have moved our stay to the excellent column and left us thinking we got more than a reasonable value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix090699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

and that is that the room where breakfast is served too small is to accomodate all the people. But free breakfast was nice and the wine/cheese reception was something I have never encountered before and was of good quality. Location is close to cannery row and for fysically normal people you can even walk to fisherman's wharf. Room are spacious and have evrything you need. Hotel has big parking garage.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Lovely old style Hotel in walking distance to Cannery Row,Monterey Aquarium and Fishermans Wharf.THE hotel does run a cheese and wine afternoon which we did not attend but looks nice and and the complimenaty breakfast although not brilliant will set you up for the day.
Be aware they do charge you for Parking but you will pay to park in Monterey so depending on your plans its no big deal.
Hotel has no swimming Pool which disappointed the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

When my husband announced that he had a conference in Monterey, my son and I decided to join him...and bring the dog. The Victorian Inn offered everything. It's based around a Victorian-era house, well-decorated with a fireplace in the room (it wasn't really cold enough in June to need one but we lit it one night just for its beauty), and superbly clean. Everyone treated our largish dog as a valued guest. Upon check-in, we were met with a small box of chocolates and a large bowl of dog kibble. The only one who ever challenged our dog's right to be there was a small poodle he met in the hallway. The hotel was an easy seaside walk to the Conference Center, Cannery Row, the aquarium and numerous shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felisdeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Our room was exceptional. Victorian styling. Sitting area and separate sleeping area. Fireplaces in each. Bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Parking on site, close to room at no additional charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLoveEatWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $140 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing