We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location.. Walking distance to Cannery Row and Monterey Aquarium. Rooms are clean, breakfast is more than adequate, nice wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Great value compared to the other hotels in the area. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    631
    154
    50
    25
See reviews for
486
874
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location and service. Breakfast was delicious and very organized. The hotel was very clean. My daughter forgot her tablet in the room. I called the next day & the housekeeping staff had found it and left it at the front desk. It was sent to my home address. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaO26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We moved here from Monterey Beach resort and it was a considerable improvement. The location was excellent being minutes walk from the Aquarium and Cannery Row. We booked a family suite which we were pleased to be able to reserve at very short notice. We didn't book a sleepover bed ahead and unfortunately there was none available when we arrived. The suite was very comfortable and comprised two large single beds and a sitting room with double sofa bed plus kitchenette. Staff were extremely helpful and provided spare linen for the room. The breakfast buffet was ok. Value for money for our family of four was acceptable compared with Monterey Beach Resort. There appeared to be no way to get to the reception from the bedrooms which was a bit confusing initially. There was a lift from the bedrooms down to the garage below. Overall we found this a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudgington2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Hunt, VA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

It took forever to check in. Parking was free. Room was nice. Hallway is worn out and needs to be updated NOW. Price is very, very, very overpriced for what you get. They have 1 old PC to use while standing up in the lobby which is so slow it took me 10 minutes to log into my e-mail. I was unable to bring up Facebook as the PC didn't have enough memory. They have a very, very short free Happy Hour, but no one at the front desk is able to confirm when it starts. One guy said 4:30. The other said 5:30. Bizarre. Room did have nice balcony and gas fireplace which was very nice. You may buy tickets at the hotel for the Monterey Aquarium which is great and saves you a lot of time and no wait to get in.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. It was extremely expensive, and on an off street that was difficult to find an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhuzhuboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We want to thank you for your honest comments, as they provide us our best opportunity to continually improve. We were all disappointed that your stay was less than entirely wonderful and are very sorry that you encountered an issue while using our lobby computer. This fall we will begin renovating our front desk, which will include new stations for our guests to utilize the internet. Additionally, we will be renovating our room corridors, breakfast parlor, and guest bathrooms, which we hope will address many of your concerns. We would also like to assure you that we will certainly review your feedback with our staff regarding our complimentary wine and cheese reception hours, as we always want to provide our guests with accurate information so that they might have the opportunity to enjoy such gatherings. In regards to pricing, our room rates reflect demand and seasonality on the Monterey Peninsula, with summer months and weekends commanding higher rates. However, during our non-peak season we do offer many different pricing options and attractive packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way down the pacific coast highway. Staff were very helpful on check in - although our room wasn't ready for us. The room was ok for a family of 4 - if not a little outdated - there was free wi-fi and cable tv (although no Disney channel - much to the kids disgust). Our room looked out onto the street - but was located in a sort of courtyard area. The trek up from the car park (cost $14) was a bit of chore - but too be fair we had 3 weeks worth of luggage. Breakfast was better than i expected with a choice of basic cereals, toast, bagels, pastries, juice, sausage and omelettes, The ladies worked hard to keep everything topped up. It is shame they don't have a larger area for seating - it wasn't practical to take our food on trays back to the room - so we had to hang around and wait for a table. All in all not bad - and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are very appreciative of your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time to share. We were pleased that you found our location to be excellent, as it is just two blocks away from Cannery Row. However, we were disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are happy to report that we will be renovating our breakfast parlor to create additional seating for our guests to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and are very sorry that seating was full during your stay. Additionally, we will be renovating our front desk, room corridors, and bathrooms beginning this fall. In 2013, we did purchase all new furniture, flat screen televisions, patio furniture, and artwork for our guest rooms, as we are continually committed to investing back in our properties. We hope that you will be pleased with the upcoming changes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on our recent stay in Monterey. The hotel is located in a great location about two blocks from Cannery Row. It's a great location becuase you're close but not too close to be bothered by tourists and noise.

Our room was older but really quite spacious and also had a fireplace. While we felt 100% safe (our room was on the 2nd floor facing the street), I liked the fact that the sliding door had a bar across it for extra safety.

The breakfast was really enjoyable however there is limited space and seating and it was easier to grab a tray and take it back to our room. There are also Manager's Drinks each evening which was really nice. The staff were always friendly and welcoming too. They explained the extras provided on check-in, gave us a map and also some outlet shopping tips when we checked out.

There is parking under the hotel (for a small fee which we had no issue paying given it meant our car was out of the weather and off the street) and the hotel also offers free wi-fi.

Overall, a really nice hotel/inn and one we would recommend given it's location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaquelineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing and for pointing out so many of the highlights of the Victorian Inn from our staff to the amenities we offer. We are very happy you enjoyed our selection during our complimentary breakfast and are happy to share that this fall we will be renovating our breakfast parlor to create additional seating for our guests. We will also be renovating our room corridors, lobby, and bathrooms. We can’t wait to welcome you back to experience the exciting changes.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, MA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Great location, only one block from Cannery Row. We had a corner room...it was large but no balcony. Beds and pillows were comfortable. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon and breakfast was very good. Be careful pulling into the garage...there is a sign that states low cars will bottom out. Staff was helpful and the room was clean. And again, great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wookie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed so much of what we offer from our location to our friendly staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing