We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very helpful & friendly staff, god location, good bed...a vacation can be ruined by a bad bed, clean, nice breakfast, wine and cheese tasting was nice. We've stayed there a few times and have never been disappointed. We'll definitely will return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JillP1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are so appreciative of you review and want to thank you for taking the time to do so. Thank you for continually choosing us as your hotel of choice while in Monterey. We all look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    636
    157
    50
    25
See reviews for
491
880
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Victorian Inn is conveniently located, within walking distance of the Monterey Aquarium. Staff were gracious and efficient. The rooms are spacious and appear well-maintained. Nice touches include a separate sink in the dressing alcove (in addition to the sink in the bathroom), fireplaces, and balconies or patios for most (all?) rooms. The breakfast is complete, including pre-made omelets, sausage, French toast, English muffins, pastries, fresh fruit, many types of cereal, yogurt and ripe bananas. The afternoon wine and cheese reception is also a nice touch, but if you're thinking brie and wafers, lower your expectations: there is likely to be one hard cheese (cut into cubes) and non-descript crackers. What's not to like? The biggest problem is the hardest to remedy: the walls are thin, so that you'll hear your neighbor's TV and intimate conversations. The price doesn't suggest a great value--especially compared to the many serviceable motels along Munras--but is very competitive compared to the other, mostly-more-upscale Cannery Row hotels. You'll need to budget $14 for parking. And the décor isn't luxurious--but this is Best Western, not Ritz Carlton. However, it is a very nice Best Western indeed.

Room Tip: Base rooms are in a two story building along the street. An extra $10-15 per night will get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice hotel, nice staff, nice location - but sometimes the ball gets dropped as it did on my most recent stay. A friend called ahead to arrange a surprise for us as a wedding gift - she felt confident that the hotel staff would make sure and let us know - but after we checked out - our friend asked how we liked her surprise (she arranged a couples spa package) - and we had to tell her we were never told about it -

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BubbyeNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are very appreciative of your feedback and are disappointed that your stay was less than entirely wonderful. We realize the importance of setting guest amenities and realize the impact this has on our guests stay. In this particular case, our staff was instructed not to communicate anything regarding the surprise to you upon check in, as all the details were to be put into the amenity card placed in your room. We are very sorry that we did not ensure the receipt of this card after arriving and will further review our guest amenity policies. Thank you again for your feedback, as it is vital to our continued improvement.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eureka, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is close to all attractions The wine and cheese in the afternoon was great. The bottle of wine for being a repeat customer was a nice treat. The staff is helpful and knows the area well. They give great directions and know the area well

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Not the top of my list but certainly not at the bottom. Older (hence the name Victorian) Inn within walking distance to Cannery Row and the free trolley stop. The Inn is In an area that has seen a down-hill fall over the past many years. Needing a power-wash on the outside and an upgrade on the inside, the place just looks tired and dated.

Good
- staff were very friendly and helpful.
- corner rooms have a nice eating area and lots of room
- windows actually open
- beds were comfortable ( although pillows were too high)
- happy hour made us happy (choice of wine or juice and cheese & crackers)
- fireplace was nice

So So
- parking charge &14 per night
- Breakfast. The usual pre-made omelet, sausage, cereal, fruit, juice & coffee. You wouldn't want to endure eating that for more than a couple of days.

We were satisfied enough with the hotel as the price at $200 per night was cheaper than many in the area. Not sure if I would return but I would recommend it with a qualifier.

Room Tip: Corner room with additional square footage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your reviewing and for your kind words regarding our service staff. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and are excited to share that we are planning on renovating our guest bathrooms, room corridors, and breakfast parlor. We are currently in the process of creating a model bathroom that will serve as a template for the renovations. In 2013 we recently purchased all new furniture for our guest rooms along with new patio furniture, art work, and flat screen televisions, as we are continually investing in our properties. We hope that you will consider returning in the near future to experience the upcoming changes firsthand.

Warmly,

Management of the Inns of Monterey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed there on the 24th of june while up in Monterey for the night. Ok checked in and apparantly i had told the Hotel it was my girlfriends birthday, we get to our room and found that the hotel left a bottle of wine, a very nice card and a little box of cholcoates for my girlfriend. The room was spacious and had a working fireplace (very romanatic). The ceeling was probably over 20 feet high, the bed was comfortable and best of all our patio had an ocean view (room 222). The hotel staff was way to nice, i was suprised how great the customer service was. The hotel had free Wine and cheese at 4:30 and trust me we enjoyed that. The hotel shower pressure we great and our stay was comfortable. There was no air conditioning however the ocean brezze kept the room cool all night, so none was needed and it was over 80 degrees outside. Overall the stay was absolutely outstanding. My only minor issue with the hotel was the underground parking driveway was so steep the bottom of my sedan scraped as i was exiting the parking structure. Maybe had i gone out at an angle it would not have happened. oH AND i almost forgot, the free breakfast in the morning was more then i thought, eggs, sausage, toast, crissounts, pasteries, mufflins, french toast, ceral, orange juice, coffee, tea, lemonade, apple jucie, fruit and yogurt was perfect and saved us the cost of buying breakfast. Will stay there again! LEss then $150 was a steal of a deal, not to mention Cannery row, fishermand warf, beach and aquarium was within a 5-10 minuete walking distance of the hotel so parking is no issue.

Room Tip: Pick room 222, has an ocean view, fireplace and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a room with two double beds. They were comfortable, but quite narrow. The room itself was spacious and charming with a fireplace, but even though it was nice and clean you can feel it's getting worn. This is even more apparent in the rest of the hotel. 

Staff were friendly, there was good wi-fi and a decent breakfast. But why you have to pay extra (14 $) for parking, I don't understand. 

Location is good. 5-10 walk to the aquarium. 

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing