We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Nice Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest Usa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location & Nice Breakfast”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent two nights in the Cannery Row area of Monterey staying one night at the BW Plus Victorian Inn. The location was within walking distance to Cannery Row shops and restaurants. The property is made up of several connected buildings so depending on which room you stay, there may be a long walk and some stairs/elevator to your room. Our room was a little bigger than a standard hotel room and had a high vaulted ceiling and a fireplace which were a nice plus. What made our stay even better was the welcoming breakfast in the morning in the "living room-like" dining area. The main lobby and dining area for the complimentary breakfast were very nicely appointed especially at Christmas time. The attached photo is of our daughter while we enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBSTRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    632
    155
    50
    25
See reviews for
487
876
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very clean hotel with fireplaces in most rooms adds a nice cozy touch. Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row restaurants, bars and shops we well as walking distance to the aquarium. Great restaurant across the street, something Fish Market...Kind of hole in the wall place but worth checking out. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was nothing to brag about, I'd probably skip it next time. Rooms were a little pricey at $150 (and that was with my government employee discount) but that's monterey for you...I would go back here for sure and reccommend it to anyone looking for an easy place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a wonderful time. The Victorian Inn is very accommodating with a great Manager's reception, a bottle of wine and chocolate upon arrival for repeat guests, a nice breakfast and very comfortable bed. Close to everything!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We always look for a Best Western. Their rooms are clean and comfortable and employees, friendly and helpful. If there ever is a problem it's dealt with in a timely manner. The continental breakfast, which is included, is always grand. A good selection of breakfast foods are presented and it's appreciated!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DEP1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night while on vacation. Location was great, walking distance to Cannery Row and attractions. Our room was very nice with a fireplace and a small balcony. Everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were on the second floor facing the street. We didn't notice any real noise. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereyInns, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your helpful review! We are glad to know that you found the street side room on the second floor to be quiet and restful. Traffic on Foam street usually dies down after 5pm, though we are still just a few blocks from all that Cannery Row has to offer. We will certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I have been exploring the Santa Cruz/Monterey peninsula, and this is our recommendation to you. The room was spectacular - even had a little balcony with table and chairs facing the ocean. Inside the very large room a very comfortable bed, and easy to use fireplace, with the big flat screen over it. A two block walk to the beach where the divers enter the bay; or another short walk out on the Coast Guard pier to observe sea lions, seals, birds - and we were even lucky enough to have three porpoises swim along the breakwater.
I hate to pay for parking, even in San Francisco, but the fee is reasonable given that there is so little parking that isn't metered. It's a long walk to the Aquarium, but on our visits it's always been nice weather and we've found places to eat and enjoy.
Breakfast staff is very friendly and hard-working, and the breakfast room has a charm to it. The food itself is fine, and quite nice for a complimentary breakfast.
Front desk staff (Chris ? at check-in ) very nice, and helpful with directions; as was Charlene Adams during the week-end.
Our room was on the close to the street, second or third floor, but having the view and the balcony, and the great big room, made it all worth. I'm a notorious tightwad, and this was the most I'd paid for a hotel room, but it was well worth it. A great anniversary week-end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Victorian Inn is located a short walk from Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our room was larger than average with a nice view of the bay in the distance. Room decor was fine. We slept well in the king-sized bed in the room. We will return here next time we are in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing