We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying near Cannery Row at a great price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Staying near Cannery Row at a great price!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and to start off we were upgraded since it was our second time staying here. We ended up getting a suite which had to shower heads and a jacuzzi. The view from our balcony was a bit of a disappointment because all we could see was a big tree and you have to stand up to barely see anything else. It was on the third (top) floor so we could see the water and the courtyard area but if it wasn't for that tree would could have seen more. It was nice waking up both mornings and hearing the Sea Lions in the distance and a tiny bit of the water. The hotel grounds are a bit confusing. From our building we have to walk outside to go to the ice machine and use our key to get back into the same building. The main office and the breakfast area is in what looked liked at one time was a old Victorian house which was a great feeling walking into it every time.
The room itself was huge!! It had very tall ceilings, fireplace below the TV, huge desk, huge bed, a bit small sink area but plenty of space to move about. Also on our first day we received a free bottle of wine which made our stay even better!
Now the parking situation is a bit of a downer. First getting into the parking garage is a very steep driveway so if you have a low car its almost impossible getting in and out of it and its $13 to park which doesn't make any sense since we are already paying for the room. Although being so close to the tourist areas it is cheap and on your last day you are able to park there until 4pm.
The Best Western Plus Victorian Inn is a great place to stay if your visiting Cannery Row and other areas. It doesn't cost a lot compared to the other hotels in the area and you still are able to experience being near the water even though its two blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    629
    149
    49
    25
See reviews for
476
866
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We so much enjoyed our first stay here, we made reservations again. We were greeted promptly and our room was perfect. We had one on the first floor with a small patio looking into a garden. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast had everything anyone could want. Hot cooked food, cerals, fruit, pastries etc. We will stay again on our next trip! Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room on the back unit away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear XK140NUT,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Victorian Inn. I’m so glad your first experience here was so wonderful that you decided to stay with us again. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from our friendly staff to our delicious breakfasts. I can’t wait to welcome you back for a third stay at the Victorian Inn.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice place within a couple of blocks of cannery row. The wine and cheese evening reception was nice and the free breakfast was better than expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided a couple of nice extra when they found out it was my birthday. They were much better than you typically find these days. Rooms have a nice gas fireplace, beds are pretty comfortable, and there's free wifi. Parking is $13 for the night which is cheaper than you'll find in the neighborhood in general. (People have mentioned that street parking is available if you want to deal with the hassles of parking meters, but I can't see that being cost/time effective.) As for "value" at $229/night this seems kind of high in general, however, remember that you're in California where most everything if over-priced and you're in a tourist district so what you're paying for is the location near cannery row--and you get the wine and cheese reception and a decent breakfast so those count towards the value too. If you want to stay cheaper there are $90 hotels downtown or further away. But we thought this was a pretty good place for a romantic weekend birthday getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here on spec - booked in for the Sunday night and decided to stay on until Tuesday. Front desk were great, gave us a great deal on the room although weekdays usually much pricier. Fireplace in room a bonus. Noisy road and walls a bit thin ;-), but on the whole a good find. Nice breakfast. Location perfect for cannery row.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you and you like to sleep with an open window, make sure you are not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Overview: Stayed here for two nights in October. Relatively large property with three or four separate buildings. Appeared to have been renovated in the recent past. Underground parking for a $12 fee. Stayed in one of the larger rooms on the third floor. Used as a base for visiting Monterey, Pacific Grove (our favourite) and Carmel.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, close to Cannery Row, tourist area and restaurants.
2. Our room was spacious with cathedral ceiling, fireplace and balcony.
3. Clean throughout the hotel
4. Separate sink area outside bathroom was very convenient (his and hers).
5. Underground parking for $12
6. Large elevators from underground parking to all levels.
7. Adequate breakfast with sufficient seating space in the separate lobby building
8. Wine and cheese social's every afternoon
9. Big flat screen TV.
10. Ample work space
11. Phone in toilet!
12. Free Wi-Fi
13. Fan in closet if required.
14. No noise issues

Cons: (for some maybe but not for us)

1. Our balcony didn't have much of a view but good for chilling out
2. No air conditioning but didn't need it

Would we return? We wouldn't return to Monterey as we found it a bit too touristy however have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are spacious with cathedral type ceilings however view from balconies may not be tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location two blocks from Cannery Row and Aquarium, great rooms with fireplaces, friendly and helpful staff --What's not to like! A wonderful place to stay and use as a central location for exploring the whole Monterey peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank mclaurind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and inviting. The room was nicely decorated and had a jacuzzi tub which we both enjoyed. We had a balcony with an ocean view but the view was blocked by a large tree growing in front of it. We liked the delicious breakfast which had quite a bit of variety and also the wine and cheese hour. It was walking distance to Cannery Row and many restaurants & shops. I would recommend this hotel to other and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing