We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place near cannery row, with nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice place within a couple of blocks of cannery row. The wine and cheese evening reception was nice and the free breakfast was better than expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful and provided a couple of nice extra when they found out it was my birthday. They were much better than you typically find these days. Rooms have a nice gas fireplace, beds are pretty comfortable, and there's free wifi. Parking is $13 for the night which is cheaper than you'll find in the neighborhood in general. (People have mentioned that street parking is available if you want to deal with the hassles of parking meters, but I can't see that being cost/time effective.) As for "value" at $229/night this seems kind of high in general, however, remember that you're in California where most everything if over-priced and you're in a tourist district so what you're paying for is the location near cannery row--and you get the wine and cheese reception and a decent breakfast so those count towards the value too. If you want to stay cheaper there are $90 hotels downtown or further away. But we thought this was a pretty good place for a romantic weekend birthday getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here on spec - booked in for the Sunday night and decided to stay on until Tuesday. Front desk were great, gave us a great deal on the room although weekdays usually much pricier. Fireplace in room a bonus. Noisy road and walls a bit thin ;-), but on the whole a good find. Nice breakfast. Location perfect for cannery row.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you and you like to sleep with an open window, make sure you are not on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Overview: Stayed here for two nights in October. Relatively large property with three or four separate buildings. Appeared to have been renovated in the recent past. Underground parking for a $12 fee. Stayed in one of the larger rooms on the third floor. Used as a base for visiting Monterey, Pacific Grove (our favourite) and Carmel.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, close to Cannery Row, tourist area and restaurants.
2. Our room was spacious with cathedral ceiling, fireplace and balcony.
3. Clean throughout the hotel
4. Separate sink area outside bathroom was very convenient (his and hers).
5. Underground parking for $12
6. Large elevators from underground parking to all levels.
7. Adequate breakfast with sufficient seating space in the separate lobby building
8. Wine and cheese social's every afternoon
9. Big flat screen TV.
10. Ample work space
11. Phone in toilet!
12. Free Wi-Fi
13. Fan in closet if required.
14. No noise issues

Cons: (for some maybe but not for us)

1. Our balcony didn't have much of a view but good for chilling out
2. No air conditioning but didn't need it

Would we return? We wouldn't return to Monterey as we found it a bit too touristy however have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are spacious with cathedral type ceilings however view from balconies may not be tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location two blocks from Cannery Row and Aquarium, great rooms with fireplaces, friendly and helpful staff --What's not to like! A wonderful place to stay and use as a central location for exploring the whole Monterey peninsula.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mclaurind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and inviting. The room was nicely decorated and had a jacuzzi tub which we both enjoyed. We had a balcony with an ocean view but the view was blocked by a large tree growing in front of it. We liked the delicious breakfast which had quite a bit of variety and also the wine and cheese hour. It was walking distance to Cannery Row and many restaurants & shops. I would recommend this hotel to other and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night a week ago after the federal shutdown forced us to change our original plan to visit Yosemite National Park.

The hotel we were staying in previously did not have occupancy for another day so we selected this one based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

We weren't disappointed. It is within walking distance of the Cannery Row/ocean sites and the staff was really friendly. We were happy about the $13/night parking fee (compared to the $30+ we paid at the other hotel) and even happier when the hotel clerk waived it just because we waited a few minutes to check out so he could assist some friendly seniors.

The room was good and we were shielded from outside noise pretty well.

All in all a good stay for when our plans changed at the last minute!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at this Inn at the start of October.

It is easily reached travelling into Monterey from the north, located on Foam Street which runs one way to the south. It is well placed about 2 blocks back, and within short walking distance, from Cannery Row. It has a large basement car park which is accessed from Foam Street. There are no designated carparks but on check-in you receive a parking pass to display on the car dash during your stay. There is a single (and somewhat slow) elevator from the basement to the upper levels but there is no trouble in getting luggage from the car to your room.

The check in desk and breakfast room is in a separate building from the accommodation, but again is easily accessible from the carpark.

Accommodation is in several blocks on two levels. The corridors look to have been refurbished recently and our room itself was very nicely set up and appointed. It had a gas open fireplace, ample work space and a bathroom and dressing area which allowed for one person to attend to showering while another dressed or dealt with make-up etc.

The bed in our room was king sized with mock period touches such as the head board, light fittings and side cabinets. This is probably not to everyone's taste but was in keeping with the "Victorian" theme of decoration. A small balcony was accessed off the sitting room.

Breakfast was served each morning in a room adjacent to the check-in desk and was limited but adequate. Juice/coffee/tea was available along with most options for a continental breakfast. It paid to be there on time because the staff seemed a little slow to replenish stock when it had been eaten.

Free wi-fi was available and easily connected to and a full package of television and movie entertainment was provided on demand.

The Inn was exactly as advertised, consistent with a dependable brand like Best Western. It was a comfortable and welcoming stop during our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $150 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing