We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & unusual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A fairly large sprawling 2 storey hotel built in 'Victorian' style.

We had a large comfortable room with plenty of space and a balcony, it also had a high beamed ceiling with a fan (no a/c but this wasn't a problem) which made it feel very light. The room was furnished in 'Victorian' style with armchairs, paintings and dark furniture. It had masses of storage space (both hanging and drawers), large TV and usual facilities (coffee maker etc.).

The room and bathroom were very clean throughout with what looked like a new carpet.

Good free breakfast in the morning in a pleasant dining room.

It was within an easy walk on Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and the tourist parts of Monterey so it's in a good location.

I'd definitely stop here when next in Monterey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We wanted to stay close to Cannery Row without being on the actual street. Namely, those hotels were pretty expensive and I saw some reviews that commented how loud those hotels could be. This hotel was great, because we were just a couple blocks off Cannery Row. It was such a short walk to everything, but we still had quiet at night. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed a little wine and cheese spread they provided in the afternoon. We skipped the free breakfast because we wanted to go out and see more of the town. So I can't comment on the quality of that. The parking garage was nice too, because we could use the car as we needed, but were pleased that it was tucked away from the street. The garage was $13/day, just as an FYI.

We would definitely stay here again. Very reasonable rates and so very close to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFlondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Good sized rooms with fireplaces which made the room very welcoming and homely. The hotel is in a great location and easy to find. Only negative was breakfast in the morning. It was extremely busy and the seating facilities are not adequate to meet the capacity of the hotel. It felt like a school dining hall. The breakfast itself was basic but good enough for our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJR_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Best Western PLUS Victorian Inn. We, too, love our hotel’s location and its welcoming atmosphere. We’re proud to offer select fireplace rooms for our guests to enjoy.

I’m also pleased to let you know that we’re in the process of upgrading our breakfast services, including remodeling our seating facilities in order to make our breakfasts even better. Be assured that comments like yours are being taken into account as we move forward with our renovations.

Thank you again for your comments! We hope to welcome you back to the Victorian Inn so that we might show you how dedicated we are to providing a wonderful Monterey Experience.

Sincerely,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The location is great. The room was okay. It was very musty and doesn't have much air moving thru. There isn't any air conditioning, so the room was a little warm. The bathroom is very dated could use some remodeling. Not sure if the grout in the tile floor is supposed to be that dark. For some reason both of us had a sinus issue on the three day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DougM650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, right at Cannery Row, aquarium, and bike trail that will take you everywhere! Nice and clean rooms! Free upgrade along with a bottle of wine in our room just for being a return customer!! Very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and the Victorian Inn staff prepared a big surprise for us. We had a great wine bottle waiting for us in the bedroom with a beautiful welcome message of the staff. This was a kind gesture that we appreciate a lot. The guest room is very comfortable and the cal king bed is amazing. The bathroom had a node appearance but it was clean. The breakfast is ok and the breakfast area is very cozy. The hotel is very well located and it is just 2 minutes walk from the Cannery Row. The guest parking lot is beneath the hotel and costs 13 USD per day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelolapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Marcelolapa,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western PLUS Victorian Inn. I’m so glad our staff were able to help make your 10th anniversary a exceptional one with a bottle of local wine and a special note to toast your lasting relationship. We, too, love our guest rooms, and our California King rooms are a great way for couples to unwind during their stay in Monterey!

I’m also pleased to let you know that we’re in the process of upgrading our breakfast services, including remodeling our seating facilities in order to make our breakfasts even better. Be assured that comments like yours are being taken into account as we move forward with our renovations.

Thank you again for your comments! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Victorian Inn so that we might show you how dedicated we are to providing a wonderful Monterey Experience.

Sincerely,

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We are three sisters in our 60s who decided to take a Pacific Coast Road Trip. We stayed at the BW Victorian because of the close proximity to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and other Cannery Row attractions. Michelle, who works at the Inn was so wonderful and welcomming to us and made our stay very special. We love the Inn and the people who worked there. The only complaint we had is that the suite we stayed in had no A/C and we just happened to be there in record heat. We had to keep our windows open for circulation and the road noise was pretty bad. We did our best to ignore that and all I can say is that everything else about our stay made up for that one inconvience. Beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: Make sure your room has A/C, maybe the more modern rooms in the other part of the property have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,651 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $127 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing