We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, nice rooms”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms were great...very clean, nice and quiet. My only complaint was there was no A/C (or we couldn't find it). And although you don't really need it with the cool temperatures in the area, it is nice to get fresh air in the room. We could open the sliding glass door to the courtyard, but we shared the area outside the door with the room next door, plus there were sidewalks out there. There was no privacy if we wanted fresh air in our room.

Otherwise, the breakfast was good - they had both the standard continental stuff and some hot items like eggs, french toast, and sausage. The seating area wasn't always the most comfortable, but they did provide trays if you wanted to take breakfast back to your room.

The location was great, about a 15 minute walk thru the cannery area to the aquarium. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmer418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    636
    157
    50
    25
See reviews for
491
880
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find that the Victorian Inn didn't fit the image so many Best Western motels (comfortable and convenient, but nothing special). This inn has a very comfortable and well-furnished lounge, an incredibly great location right off Cannery Row near the Aquarium, and our corner room on the 3rd floor had beautiful blue-water views of Monterey Bay! The room itself -- Room 301 -- was an unusual treat, with very high beamed ceiling and comfortable decor. A very quiet room, toward the back of the property well away from the street. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon, an adequate breakfast each morning. Very pleasant and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Recommend 3rd floor rooms: they're in the back of the property, very quiet. Particularly like R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apjb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear apjb33,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Victorian Inn. I, too, love the comfortable Victorian-style lounge, our excellent location just blocks away from the Aquarium and Cannery Row, and the special touches that make our hotel unique. Our high-beamed ceiling rooms are a special treat for the weary traveler, and our complimentary wine and cheese can’t be beat! I hope to be able to welcome you back for another excellent stay at the Victorian Inn.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My girlfriend (now fiancee) and I stayed at the Best Western Victorian Inn for one night during our drive down along the Pacific Highway Coast from San Fran to Santa Barbara and LA. It was the perfect spot. The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly - however, the room was very deceptive - you would think you was in a 4/5* hotel. We had high cellings and a fireplace, not to mention a very comfortable bed. The hotel is centrally located within a few minutes walk into the centre of Monterey. If you are stopping off in Monterey - make the Victorian Inn your point of call.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_E_Quinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We celebrated our 40th anniversary with an unplanned trip to Monterey. Due to some physical limitations we wanted close to Cannery Row. It's close, but not on and at the far end. The room décor was beautiful but the bathroom/vanity was small, tired, overly lit by cheap fluorescent bulbs and seemed to be an after thought. We had a small balcony with table and chairs and slight ocean view but a better view of the roof of the adjacent building (we were 3rd floor, they were 2nd so it was a full view of the roof!). The hotel treated us to a bottle of wine, we enjoyed the wine & cheese reception. Breakfast was typical but we had to take it to our room due to no available seating (and it was cold since we were at the far end, away from the reception area. Felt the rate was high; it was Monterey on a Friday night but nothing was going on so felt it was a bit high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johni824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for a Monterey stay. Close walking to cannery row & aquarium (fortunately not so close as to have the smells!). Very clean. Staff was friendly & helpful. Room was really well done with a fireplace & outdoor patio. Really a good deal!

Green Features: Part of Inns of Monterey water conservation, practice not over-doing laundry, remind people to conserve, etc.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvmtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

an excellent choice for a trip to monterey. Great value for the price, great location. Room was very clean, well done inside--nicely placed fireplace & outside patio. Easy walking distance (fortunately not smelling distance) to cannery row & aquarium.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank dvmtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've stayed here many times over the past 15 years. Sometimes there's a glitch or something goes wrong, but overall we really like the place and keep returning. Keep in mind that there is a $13.00 per night charge for parking. However, the parking is covered with access to elevators.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing