We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel...great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Terrific property: rooms are clean, large, and well-appointed w/fireplace and big flat-screen TVs. Location: two blocks up from the waterfront and just a few minutes walk to Aquarium. Staff; friendly and attentive. Extras: a generous hot breakfast until 10:00 and afternoon wine/cheese bar from 4:30-5:30. Conclusion: if you can do without an ocean-front room - then stay at this quiet gem of an inn. It's an excellent value and perfect for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougCannalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    616
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
462
848
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent location. Charming room with fireplace, comfortable bed. Our room opened onto a lovely courtyard patio with little table and chairs. Service at reception counter exceptional! My daughter and I were on a mother/daughter getaway and asked for somewhere great to eat. Michele suggested the Chart House and called them for a reservation. They said they weren't seating anyone until 9:00. It was 5:30 and we were ready for dinner. She asked to speak to someone else and they immediately were able to accommodate us. Thanks to her intervention our stay in Monterey was memorable. The hotel is walking distance to Cannery Row and all the history, shops, wharf and beach. Enjoyed the expanded continental breakfast in a charming dining room. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarajan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband, two Chihuahuas and I enjoyed a perfect weekend getaway at the Victorian Inn. Our room was clean, the furnishings were on the higher end, and I liked our little patio. The bed was comfortable, we both slept quite well.

The staff was amazingly friendly from the manager "Michelle" (who has a genuinely lovely heart) to the sweet and helpful maids. Our Chihuahuas even felt the love from these good hearted people. The food was very nice. We enjoyed the afternoon wine and Cheese" and breakfast was a better spread then we expected.

The location is great! We enjoyed the walk to cannery row, dining and the beach. It's true that parking is an additional $13. a day, but the best price we saw for parking in town is $15. a day. People might feel better if the $13. charge was included in the total price of the stay. If I could make a request, it would be for the patio to be completely fenced in, so we could open the door and enjoy the outdoors without having our dogs on leash.

All in all the Victorian inn was a delightful place to land!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

overall a great stay and the rooms are large and well kept. you have a nice morning breakfast that is a little more than the usual continental offerings. Convenient to all the big tourists sites and restaurants. Only complaint was when we checked in the front desk forgot to give us our parking pass and we had a ticket on it the following morning. They took care of it nicely and apologized. So I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobT005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here last Fall. Excellent location. It was an easy walk to Canary Row and the Aquarium. Our bed was comfortable, the room clean. The complementary breakfast was good.
It was a fairly reasonable price for a very pricy area. So it had all the basics we needed. Also a nice little balcony and a fireplace that we definitely didn't need the time of year we were there. And they have parking below although if I remember correctly we had to pay a fee for it. It evidently has a hot tub that no one pointed out on check in, so we never had a chance to use it. I thought it was strange they never mentioned it. That is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckSpenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our premium room was beautifully furnished and had an excellent king bed. The bathroom was large with twin hand basins and had the most complicated set of taps for the shower I have ever seen. There was also a west facing balcony as big as the room. When you opened the balcony door it flooded the room with light. Wifi was free and good. Parking was not free, which surprised me as there appears to be no other way to get there unless you drove a car. It must never get hot in Monterey as there was no airconditioning that I could find but the room did have a large gas fire place with imitation logs. On a cold night it would be very romantic. There was also another heater in the room. Between 4.30 and 5.30 the hotel put on cheese and wine which I understand to be a daily occurrence, it was a nice touch. I sat on the balcony in the afternoon sun and could not think of a more pleasant place to be. Breakfast was included in the tariff. It was described as continental but it had eggs (hard boiled and cold or made into what was like and egg pancake) sausages, cereal, two juices, 3 coffees, choice of toast and and a choice of muffins.. There was also something else that may have been American Biscuits (scones) but I did not try them. Everything was fresh and well presented. The hotel itself was immaculate and appeared to be well managed. I would happily return. Location was a 3 minute walk to Cannery Row.

Room Tip: We had a premium room, there only appeared to be 2 of them and ours was away from the main road. Noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcin719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed three nights and wanted to spend some "tourist time" here (my previous trips had been for diving). The hotel is in easy walking distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Monterey Bay Aquarium. The room was large, had a king bed and fireplace, small balcony. Very comfortable. Breakfast basic but adequate (could have used more tables in eating area). Price was excellent for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing