We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy beautifully furnished but dark room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Classy beautifully furnished but dark room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our premium room was beautifully furnished and had an excellent king bed. The bathroom was large with twin hand basins and had the most complicated set of taps for the shower I have ever seen. There was also a west facing balcony as big as the room. When you opened the balcony door it flooded the room with light. Wifi was free and good. Parking was not free, which surprised me as there appears to be no other way to get there unless you drove a car. It must never get hot in Monterey as there was no airconditioning that I could find but the room did have a large gas fire place with imitation logs. On a cold night it would be very romantic. There was also another heater in the room. Between 4.30 and 5.30 the hotel put on cheese and wine which I understand to be a daily occurrence, it was a nice touch. I sat on the balcony in the afternoon sun and could not think of a more pleasant place to be. Breakfast was included in the tariff. It was described as continental but it had eggs (hard boiled and cold or made into what was like and egg pancake) sausages, cereal, two juices, 3 coffees, choice of toast and and a choice of muffins.. There was also something else that may have been American Biscuits (scones) but I did not try them. Everything was fresh and well presented. The hotel itself was immaculate and appeared to be well managed. I would happily return. Location was a 3 minute walk to Cannery Row.

Room Tip: We had a premium room, there only appeared to be 2 of them and ours was away from the main road. Noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcin719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    612
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
460
839
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed three nights and wanted to spend some "tourist time" here (my previous trips had been for diving). The hotel is in easy walking distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Monterey Bay Aquarium. The room was large, had a king bed and fireplace, small balcony. Very comfortable. Breakfast basic but adequate (could have used more tables in eating area). Price was excellent for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is only a couple of blocks from Cannery Row and the aquarium. You can buy tickets for the aquarium at the hotel that are good for two days for the same price as a one day ticket purchased at the aquarium. Excellent breakfast but they need more tables in the breakfast room. The wine and cheese hour is also very nice. We've stayed at this hotel in the past and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31MIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found ourselves at "Taste of Monterey" at the end of our day driving the PCH. We searched for hotels nearby and found this property. It was everything the reviews said about it and more. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean; extremely relaxing with the fireplace; and very large. The power strip on our credenza did not work and when I reported it to the front desk, they immediately removed our parking charge for our inconvenience. We couldn't have asked for better service. I highly recommend this property if you find yourself in Monterey in the fisherman's wharf area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titans-Girl-1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place was in a great location. Cannery row is within walking distance and the price was excellent. The continental breakfast was decent - nothing gourmet, but it was convenient. They had french toast, eggs, yogurt, cereal, sausage, coffee/tea, etc. The wine and cheese in the afternoon was nice - again nothing super high class, but it was nice. This place if very family friendly - they had juice at the wine and cheese event for the kids (and for those like me that don't drink :)). The rooms were decent and we slept really well. The bathroom was pretty simple, but everything was neat and clean. The staff were very nice and helpful. Overall I thought this was a decent place, especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are not driving and want to walk to the surrounding areas. From this location you can walk to fisherman's wharf, lovers point and cannery row without any difficulty. The room was big and very nice and clean. Ask for a room that is in the back overlooking the courtyard.
There is no pool here, so if you have kids that want a pool, this is not the place for you.

The only disappointment was that the hot tub was not working, and the bed was slightly stiff.

A good couples place.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the back overlooking the courtyard and higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel does practice the saving water environmentally friendly where they only change the lines upon request.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my second stay here and what I liked was that the price was right for the rooms that they have. All the rooms have a fireplace which is nice and cozy plus a little balcony with chairs. My first stay I was bothered with the fact that the elevator that lead to the parking & guest rooms for the hotel had no real security and anyone could enter it to get to the hallways and the rooms. But nothing happened and this 2nd trip I felt safer than the last. I like very much that all the workers were eager to help and friendly. The community areas were clean and so was my room. There is a nice variety in the daily breakfast that's complimentary. And supposedly there is a wine and cheese in the afternoon which I never made to either stays. But it's nice to know if I did, it was an option. I had a wonderful surprise of a full bottle (750ml), not the small half bottles of wine and chocolates plus a wonderful welcome back card that awaited me when I walked into my room. I guess they could recognize me in the systems as a returning guest. Although, I would have thought that perhaps they would only give it to those who are regular repeat guests instead of someone who's been there only one time before. So this was a nice surprise. Wonderful location, I was able to do Cannery Row and walk to Fisherman's Wharf for dinner and then back to Cannery Row for dessert. :) I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing