We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Repeat Customers”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Victoriam Inn numerous times over the past several yrs and have reserved another stay this fall. Accommodations and staff are always delightful. Love the breakfast and early evening wine reception. Last visit, we were presented with a personal note and bottle of wine in our room welcoming us as return visitors. We have traveled extensively in and outside of the US and the Victorian Inn in Monterey is a favorite of ours. Location is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    629
    149
    49
    25
See reviews for
476
866
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My little Maltese and I had a wonderful 3 night stay recently in Monterey at the Victorian Inn. The staff is exceptional! The location is central and walkable to all activities. The fireplace on cool nights could not be beat!

Noise carries from other rooms and the stairs outside, but small issue...all considered. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Victorian Inn is in a good place between MBA & Fisherman's Wharf - love to eat at the wharf. There is a CVS & a gas station 2 blocks away. Breakfast has a lot of options, staff are friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CJflutterbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms at the Victorian Inn. Don't be put off by the Best Western brand - this is a good quality hotel with spacious and recently renovated rooms. The bathrooms are a little bit old, but otherwise it's all very nice. The location is close to Cannery Row and quiet. Staff of the hotel were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was a bonus and quite good with a reasonable choice (although the usual lousy American coffee!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are beautiful. It is also within walking distance of the aquarium and Cannery Row. However, the walls are VERY thin and it is loud; you can hear everything your neighbors are doing on either side of you (and above you if you are on the bottom floor), and you can hear things going on outside as well. If you are are a light sleeper, this hotel is probably not for you.

Room Tip: Would NOT recommend a first floor room; would recommend being on the top floor to reduce noise level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife booked 2 nights here because it was close to Cannery Row and within walking distance to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our room was clean and the one thing we both liked was the room had a very comfortable mattress. The hotel grounds were clean and maintained but the hallway on the 2nd floor could use a new paint color as we both felt it made the place look old. The one thing i did not like were the 2 sitting chairs they had in our room as both were extremely uncomfortable to sit on and relax. After a long days drive one would hope for a recliner chair so you could put your feet up and relax. The T.V. was placed over the fireplace and that made it uncomfortable to watch from the bed. I have to say for the nightly cost we paid i felt the breakfast was very low budget. Overall the place was not that bad however if we travel to Monterey again i would try another hotel. Don't get me wrong i am not saying don't stay here just giving you my thoughts on the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lspool1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we checked into our room, the local TV station reception was terrible. The man the front deck sent up to repair the TV was Tim. He was very professional and personable. When the reception could not be improved, the front desk moved us to another room. We want to commend Tim for really trying to help us. Very impressed with this hotel on our first night here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nshnels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing