We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Given where it is located, this hotel is very good bargain.
The rooms are especially roomy and well maintained.
Room and linen are clean.
Continental breakfast runs to eggs , sausages, cereals fruits, ... the works.
The rooms have fireplaces and are well decorated.
Ground level rooms have balconies at the back, but without a view or privacy.
It is conveniently located, on a quiet street, within 5 minutes walk from Cannery row.
The hotel has paid parking, which is much cheaper than what you would pay in town. They let us leave our there past checkout without charging extra while we spent the day out at the aquarium.
The hotel also has little perks like fresh cold drinking water in the lobby, friendly staff, a wine-and-cheese reception every day(maybe), and a decent breakfast spread (did I mention that already?)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odobenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    612
    146
    44
    25
See reviews for
460
839
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first over night stay in Monterey and just at random we choise the BEst Western Victorian Inn. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and our room was way more than expected.....very clean and oh how wonderful it smelled..very nice comfortable bed..We didn't eat the breakfast that was offered nor did we do the wine and cheese tasting as our time was limited, but over all "when" we make it back up that way we will stay at BWVI again :)

Room Tip: very good location if you want to just walk to the water front....few blocks down and few blocks nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Dogs Welcome - Don Schissel Concord CA

A man wrote a letter to a
Small hotel in a Midwest town he planned to visit on his vacation.


He wrote: I
Would very much like to bring my dog with me. He is well-groomed and very
Well behaved. Would you be willing to permit me to keep him in my room
With me at night?

An immediate reply came
From the hotel owner, who wrote:

SIR: I've been operating
This hotel for many years. In all that time, I've never had a dog steal
Towels, bedclothes, silverware or pictures off the walls. I've never had
To evict a dog in the middle of the night for being drunk and disorderly.
And I've never had a dog run out on a hotel bill. Yes, indeed, your dog is
Welcome at my hotel. And if your Dog will vouch for you, you're welcome to
Stay here, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were here April 12-17. After flying all day, getting lost from the airport, and having trouble getting the transponder key out of our crazy rental car, we were a bit late for the wine the evening we checked in, but the wonderful Michele and Victor treated us. Michele, the manager, was a great friend to us the whole time. The 2nd floor room was huge + the location was perfect. We liked the included breakfast & afternoon happy hour. The underground parking was well worth the fee. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

lovely accommodation- additional charge for parking ($13 per night) and the internet was not very good in the rooms but lovely size rooms and clean
breakfast was simple but did the job
afternoon 4.30-5.30 they do free cheese and wine (lemonade and coffee) which was nice after a long drive
location is one block to the waterfront- easy to find from the highway

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H22h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Monterrey to relax and go to the aquarium. This was a perfect s helpfulpot. The staff was helpful and welcoming. We parked the car and walked to the places we visited. So much easier. We almost missed the lovely garden in the courtyard. We ail deginetly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishmosh2000
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Best Western is in a great location. A short walk from the Coastal trail, Fisherman's Wharf, Aquarium, Path of History, etc. The area is easy to get to by car and there is plenty of parking in the basement (surcharge). The room was a little old but very clean and very quality where it counts (at least for me): bed, desk. The nicer touches include a high ceiling (stayed on the 2nd floor), a mini-fridge and a working gas fireplace which actually was very nice. Although I did not sample them, there is a continental breakfast and an afternoon wine/cheese reception daily--nice touches! All in all, very happy with my stay and would definitely stay there again when in Monterey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carleton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing