We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you would expect from a best western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

lovely accommodation- additional charge for parking ($13 per night) and the internet was not very good in the rooms but lovely size rooms and clean
breakfast was simple but did the job
afternoon 4.30-5.30 they do free cheese and wine (lemonade and coffee) which was nice after a long drive
location is one block to the waterfront- easy to find from the highway

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H22h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Monterrey to relax and go to the aquarium. This was a perfect s helpfulpot. The staff was helpful and welcoming. We parked the car and walked to the places we visited. So much easier. We almost missed the lovely garden in the courtyard. We ail deginetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Best Western is in a great location. A short walk from the Coastal trail, Fisherman's Wharf, Aquarium, Path of History, etc. The area is easy to get to by car and there is plenty of parking in the basement (surcharge). The room was a little old but very clean and very quality where it counts (at least for me): bed, desk. The nicer touches include a high ceiling (stayed on the 2nd floor), a mini-fridge and a working gas fireplace which actually was very nice. Although I did not sample them, there is a continental breakfast and an afternoon wine/cheese reception daily--nice touches! All in all, very happy with my stay and would definitely stay there again when in Monterey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carleton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location for our first trip to Monterey. We enjoyed the fireplace room and easy access to Cannery Row and trails. The hotel also host a daily wine tasting that was an extra perk and the hot breakfast was always very good. I would recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and two young sons. I chose it because it had suites (essential when traveling with young kids), a refrigerator (actually two - one in each room!), and was close to many attractions. I was pleasantly surprised at how large the rooms were. We had lots of space, a fireplace in each room, and a balcony for each room. Some of the furnishings seemed to have been recently updated, but others looked dated. The breakfast was a pretty standard hotel continental breakfast. We liked that they had trays so it was easy to take breakfast for the family back to our room. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The living room sofa had a pull-out bed for my 5-year-old son. The 2-year-old slept in a crib (provided by the hotel).

The hotel was located between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, about a block from the pedestrian trail. It was a short walk to lots of restaurants, places to view the seals and sea otters, and the aquarium. Grocery stores (Safeway and Trader Joe's) were about 3 miles away up a very big hill (an easy trip with a car but not so easy on foot).

I booked the room directly on the hotel website and got the AAA deal (cheaper than I saw it anywhere else). Parking is an extra $13/night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We checked in on April 5th and checked out on the 7th. The rooms we stayed in (121 & 122) were on the bottom floor, right in front of the street. No view, but the landscape provided excellent privacy. The rooms were a good size, clean and well stocked. The two big red chairs in each room were very comfortable and the patio had two more patio style chairs with a small patio table. We kept the patio door open in the morning but closed when we were out during the day/night and did not notice the traffic sounds being a nuisance. We didn't hear any of our neighbors, except for the ones above and only for a short time on the morning of check out, so it was overall pretty quiet. The couple we traveled with did have a group of full of young adults in the room next to them going in and out the front and patio doors all night long, both nights, so it was a little noisier for our friends, but it was not the Inn's fault, just the luck of the draw. We are early risers and experienced no problems with the shower water pressure at 7am, but our friends did when they took showers at 9am. The staff was most accommodating and Victor handled the bottles at the evening wine reception with great showmanship. He actually took the time to demonstrate his technique, which I enjoyed greatly. The Inn was very generous both at the wine reception and breakfast. All four of us agreed that the Inn is a good value with great customer service, within walking distance of many attractions and we'll be back again requesting the same rooms.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Araceli921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay at the Victorian Inn in March. The room on the third floor complete with an ocean view and fireplace was frankly nicer than expected. The wine and cheese reception was lovely. We were in Monterey to attend our grandson's graduation at the Presido and the location could not have been any better. I hope to return for a longer stay soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewxam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $140 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing