We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean and inviting Inn which looks more like condos with balconies and much foliage. Great location just a couple short blocks to Cannery Row. Ended up spending 2 nights instead of one. Very nice room...well appointed. Front desk staff were super friendly and helpful with walking maps etc. gratis wine and cheese every afternoon and btw the wine was good!

Room Tip: Enjoyed a king size room with glimpse of the ocean....ask for AAA rate
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice room w/ fireplace for great price in Monterey through Bookings.com. Good continental breakfast. Parking in garage was $13 which I don't like, but otherewise it is close to Cannery Row and downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night at the Best Western Victorian Inn when we took our 5-year-old grandson to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The inn is just one block off Cannery Row and an easy walk to the aquarium. It is also an easy walk to the businesses on Lighthouse Avenue. Our room had two double beds and two small tables with chairs...very comfortable. I liked that we had a sink outside the bathroom as well as another one inside the bathroom. This made it easy for all of us to get ready. A very nice breakfast is included. Parking cost $13. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryellen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

While there are lots of more expensive places in Monterey, this is the place we choose to stay. The rooms are large and clean, the fireplaces are a really nice touch and the hotel is in the perfect location ...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here on our roadtrip down route 1 and everything about the hotel was superb. Excellent location brilliant accomodation and staff that went out of their way to be welcoming and offer assistance.
If we return to Monteray we would not stay any where else!

Room Tip: We sayed on the top floor and had two rooms which were both excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I planned a 2 day get away with my 2 children and checked in my room at 2pm .about 545pm half the block pg&e went out due to a sea gull flying into a transformer.i understand it was no ones fault but it was an inconvienence because my 1yr old got extremly fussy and I couldnt even shower & dress for dinner reservation on time due to us not being able to see in the dark.so we had to leave in the clothes we wore all day.then later that night about 9pm we returned to r room and the electricity was back on so I decided to give myself and my 1yr old a bath while bathing some sort of black stuff began comming out of the over flow drain into the bathtub OMG! HOW NASTY &UNSANITARY! It looked like some thing had been burned then put in the water.i called down stairs they sent up the maintenence guy.he couldnt fix the prob & explained its happened a few other times and believes its a pluming issue.so then me and my children had to pack up into another room wich was a headache because I was sooo tired from driving 3hours to get there & walking around at the aquarium and later walking to go eat dinner.i just wanted to bathe and go to sleep.i was offered 75$off of my 209$ wich I accepted .then the morning I was leaving the water was shut off .i was told to fix a valve .then at check out I was over charged 25$ and i caught it after signing and had to go back and show them then they adjusted it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hi,

We just spent a one night at this place, and personally, I feel it is a good place to stay as it is conveniently located, good breakfast for a "Best Western" style hotel, and friendly staff.

We stayed in two of the rooms on the third floor since we had our 9 months son traveling with us so I wanted a quiet room, a bit away from the elevators. The rooms were comfy and nicely appointed although the bathroom seem a bit out dated. The fireplace was a nice addition as it added a little something extra to the cozy room.

Unfortunately, although the outside noise was kept to an absolute minimum due to the location of our rooms (303 and 304), the in-room heater noise was too much for my father-in-law as he could not get much sleep throughout the night.

No, the noise was not super loud. However, with way that these gas furnace heater work can be annoying for light sleepers.

The review would be a solid 4 star and if not for this heater noise issue for my father-in-law.

It would be nice if these HVAC systems can be upgraded in the future so light sleepers can get a better night of sleep..

Overall, I would still recommend it if you are not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyNsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $140 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing