We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay Near Cannery Row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    554
    139
    41
    22
See reviews for
423
757
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the top places on my list to visit on our rode trip from Boise, Idaho to Crescent City, Ca. along the PCH to Santa Barbara and then home to Scottsdale, Az. I was disappointed. As I said in the title it was nice enough. The town is beautiful, no doubt about that. The hotel was just fine. The front desk was not very welcoming. The hotel was a bit tired looking at least for the price. Location was an easy walk to Cannery Row, although walking home around 9:00 in the evening it was a little too dark and empty for me to feel comfortable. It was a Sunday night so there was not much nightlife. We stayed in 6 hotels during our trip and we had some amazing locations for much less money, so that may be the problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckySurferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I want to thank this reviewer, first and foremost, for taking the time to share their feedback regarding their recent stay at our hotel. Honest comments from our guests, either received directly or through their posts on TripAdvisor, are very important to me as they provide the best possible insight into how our services are being received and how we might make improvements. I also want to thank this reviewer for their kind comments about our hotel’s location; we agree that Monterey is a lovely city on the Central Coast, and well worth visiting.

Though we would hope to make all of our guests feel comfortable and relaxed with the ambiance created by amenities such as gas fireplaces in every room and a complimentary wine and cheese reception in the afternoons, we are disappointed to hear that, despite this, our hotel fell short of this guest’s expectations. Additionally, we are in the process of a comprehensive, multi-year update of the hotel; we have already replaced the mattress sets, guestroom light fixtures, patio furniture, bathroom mirrors, and guestroom desk chairs, as well as installed 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. Beginning in early January, we have began installing new guestroom night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and in the process we will be repainting and giving an overall refresh to the rooms. We anticipate having all of these renovation completed by mid-February, and we hope that this guest will consider a return trip so that they can experience firsthand these and many other improvements

Regarding this reviewer’s comments about their rate; even at our busiest times, our mission is to provide an authentic Monterey get-away, with an environment dedicated to personal and attentive service. Through this we hope to create an experience that our guests feel is valuable. I hope that this guest, as well as others, will take a moment to visit our website. There, we offer specials and packages year round, allowing people to experience our property in unique and cost-effective ways.

Should any guest wish to speak with our managers directly regarding a question or concern, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We consider comments from all of our guests – both current and future – to be genuinely valuable, and we welcome all feedback.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
945 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just spent three delightful days in Monterey California. It was our good fortune to stay at the Victorian Inn.

We arrived just in time for the nightly wine and cheese reception. What a treat. A casual time to get acquainted with others who were visiting the area and find out what places were good to visit.

We parked in the free underground parking garage. It was a short trip via elevator from the garage to our room.

Our room was very spacious. Nice fireplace and spa tub. We even had a balcony with a partial view of Monterey Bay.

The Inn is within a short walking distance to Cannery Row and the Fisherman's Wharf. Easy access to attractions and restaurants.

The Inn provided a full breakfast every morning until 9:30 a.m. Very casual self service with plenty of variety to please everyone.

All of the staff were polite and helpful.

This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello chuck8700,

More than anything, thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Victorian Inn. It is our mission to provide a welcoming, friendly environment to our guests, and I am thrilled to hear that our staff was able to provide such for you. We know that travelers have a lot of choices on the Monterey Peninsula, so our hotel offers rooms for everyone’s needs; suites or families, rooms for guests traveling with their pets, and Concierge level rooms with spa tubs for those looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway.
I am glad that your romantic trip was all you had hoped for, and I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back again!
Thank you, again,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Victorian Inn was centrally located for us. We were able to walk to Cannery Row, the Aquarium, and also down to the Wharf. We also drove to Carmel and Santa Cruz. Having breakfast provided saves alot of time and also trying to look for a place to eat. The wine and cheese hour was especially good. The fireplace was well used since it was cold the time we stayed and our room was spacious. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed early January in the 1 bedroom suite so we had a kitchen and 2 of the lovely fires which add a great atmosphere. The hotel has easy parking and is a short walk to all that Monterey has to offer. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was really generous and fresh, with the ladies bustling about making sure everyone was happy. It can get crowded, but you are encouraged to take a tray full of food back to your room if there is nowhere to sit. We really felt at home here after our stays in the big hotels of Vegas and SanFrancisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasparorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello kasparorange,

First and foremost, thank you so much for chosing the Victorian Inn for your recent trip. And, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback. We are very proud of our hotel; in its rooms and amenities, but more so of its people. There are a lot of hotels in Monterey, and I know that it is the quality of the people working at a property which helps it to stand out. Knowing this, I am happy to say that everyone on our staff truly takes pride in providing personal, attentive service. Seeing that service commented on here means a great deal to me, and I am happy to share your kind words and high ranking.

Thank you, again. We all look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon!

the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Victorian Inn last summer during our vacation to northern California. We reserved our stay through Costco. The hotel is very well located, only a few blocks from Monterey Bay, the aquarium, and many shops and restaurants. The room was adequate. It's dimensions were good, but the decor was a little dated. Also, we had a room on the first floor, which had a little outdoor patio. It was a somewhat noisy, though not overwhelmingly so, because numerous guests walked past quite close to the room. The included breakfast was just OK, though the afternoon wine tasting was very nice. The restaurant suggestions were quite good, too. All in all, I would recommend staying here if you can get a good deal on the rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dag1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello dag1963,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your very thoughtful review.
For the past two years we’ve been embarking a series of very exciting update and upgrades to the hotel. We have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, patio furniture, bathroom mirrors, and guestroom desk chairs, and installed 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. Currently, we are in the midst of upgrading our guestroom night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and in the process, repainting and giving an overall refresh to the rooms. We are all very excited for these improvements, and we hope you can make it back this year so that you can experience all of our upgrades for yourself!

Thank you, again,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Husband found this hotel online. Two blocks to Cannery Row and he was able to call in and get a good price. $103 for Sunday night before tax. There is a $14 charge for parking. The place was WONDERFUL. Husband shared with person on the phone that this was our belated anniversary trip. Staff left a bottle of wine and chocolates for us. The room was actually in the Victorian house (only 2 are). Room was beautiful. Victorian decore. They serve wine, cheese and fruit for an hour during the early evening. Breakfast in the morning includes eggs, french toast, sausage, cereal, bread, etc. Great deal. Staff was very helpful with all our requests. This is a gem of a hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing