We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Victorian Inn last summer during our vacation to northern California. We reserved our stay through Costco. The hotel is very well located, only a few blocks from Monterey Bay, the aquarium, and many shops and restaurants. The room was adequate. It's dimensions were good, but the decor was a little dated. Also, we had a room on the first floor, which had a little outdoor patio. It was a somewhat noisy, though not overwhelmingly so, because numerous guests walked past quite close to the room. The included breakfast was just OK, though the afternoon wine tasting was very nice. The restaurant suggestions were quite good, too. All in all, I would recommend staying here if you can get a good deal on the rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dag1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hello dag1963,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your very thoughtful review.
For the past two years we’ve been embarking a series of very exciting update and upgrades to the hotel. We have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, patio furniture, bathroom mirrors, and guestroom desk chairs, and installed 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. Currently, we are in the midst of upgrading our guestroom night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and in the process, repainting and giving an overall refresh to the rooms. We are all very excited for these improvements, and we hope you can make it back this year so that you can experience all of our upgrades for yourself!

Thank you, again,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Husband found this hotel online. Two blocks to Cannery Row and he was able to call in and get a good price. $103 for Sunday night before tax. There is a $14 charge for parking. The place was WONDERFUL. Husband shared with person on the phone that this was our belated anniversary trip. Staff left a bottle of wine and chocolates for us. The room was actually in the Victorian house (only 2 are). Room was beautiful. Victorian decore. They serve wine, cheese and fruit for an hour during the early evening. Breakfast in the morning includes eggs, french toast, sausage, cereal, bread, etc. Great deal. Staff was very helpful with all our requests. This is a gem of a hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This pleasant hotel is a short (though fairly steep) walk from Cannery Row and the waterfront. Our room was pleasant, staff were friendly and breakfast was good.

There was a wine and cheese reception for guests each afternoon when we enjoyed talking to some of the other guests staying in the hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in the Deluxe King room, the room was clean and the fireplace was romantic. The staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was really good for being complimentary. I forgot a few things (toothbrush, toothpaste etc.) and they had them delivered to my room. I was able to check in early when we arrived in Monterey because our room was ready and loved the late checkout, made the trip more relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello Keri O,

More than anything, thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Victorian Inn. It is our mission to provide a welcoming, friendly environment to our guests, and I am thrilled to hear that our staff was able to provide such for you. We know that, while traveling, some things can slip a persons’ mind – so I am glad that the toothbrush and toothpaste we delivered was able to help.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! And the opportunity to earn that fifth star by really wowing you!

Thank you, again,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have a big dog and had to find a new place to stay in Monterey that took dogs .This place is great and my dog loves it too. Excellent restaurants just around the corner and walk to beach and Cannery row . The staff is excellent . Also they have a nice fireplace and had a dog bowl with food and water . A nice reception area to hang out. Wine and cheese at nite and a jacuzzi outside for a nice soak in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a great view on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okfine_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Hello okfin_8,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for taking the time to share. I am very glad to hear that both you and your dog had such a great stay. We are very proud to offer pet friendly rooms, services, and welcome treats! We’re all looking forward to welcoming you both back to Monterey soon.

Thank you, again,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night in January 2013. The hotel is very close to the Aquarium and to Cannery Row. The staff member at check in was very helpful. We found our family suite to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. There were a few little niggles at this property - given the space, queen sized beds would have been lovely. And the charming breakfast room gets a bit cramped. But the breakfast options were generous and the food was tasty.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank rockydotdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Victorian Inn is what I think of as an upscale motel atmosphere. Its cleanliness, efficiency, etc. is excellent. What makes it a bit different is the friendly, helpful attitude of its staff. They have a nice wine and cheese tasting every afternoon and now and then you meet someone there who is outgoing enough so that you can enjoy their company. The place is several blocks from the famous aquarium and cannery row and about 1/2 mile from fisherman's wharf. Bike and kayak rentals are not too far away. I highly recommend the whale watching trip from fisherman's wharf. Grey whale migration takes place in January/February and I'm looking forward to trying it for the second time next week.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reno U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $130 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing