We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient but needs some upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient but needs some upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked this hotel stay for 3 nights over New Year's. Online reservations were a breeze, and the hotel is easy to find and incredibly convenient for sightseeing and touring in the Cannery Row/Aquarium neighborhood. Parking underground is a nice touch as opposed to on-street parking, but we found $13 per day a little steep. Also - we noted that the garage is not secured, which means neither are the elevators up to the guest room areas. Hmmmm.......

We had a king bed room on the 3rd floor. Room was spacious and there were some nice amenities, such as the fireplace and balcony. The 42" screen TV over the fireplace would have been outstanding, but some channels had poor/snowy reception.

The free internet was adequate for basic browsing. However, if you wish to stream any videos, there is a premium option ($3.99/day) with a supposedly faster connection. This connection was not fast enough for smooth streaming of videos, and we never could get Netflix to connect at all. We know the problem was on the hotel's end, because we called Netflix when we could not stream, and their response was "Sometimes hotels route their signal outside the country, thus blocking the Netflix connection." No idea if this is the case with this hotel, but it was a persistent problem.
Also, when trying to upgrade to the faster plan, there were navigation problems. Eventually we just gave up.

Decor is okay. I know the hotel is undergoing upgrades (read it in manager's responses here). Bathrooms have outdated tile and counters. Pillows on bed were nice, but linens could also use some upgrading. Maybe a down comforter? Also, electrical outlets need reworking - they are inconveniently placed throughout the room. The hotel did provide a power strip upon request.

They should advertise their free breakfast as a "full" breakfast and not as "continental" - they have hot items such as eggs and sausage. A very nice surprise. When we went looking for a vending machine, however, we were told that there were none in the hotel. The locations of several convenience stores were made available, along with a suggestion to use the in-room snacks.

Even though it sounds like we are complaining a lot, we did enjoy our stay overall and would probably stay here again, if the above problems were corrected.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor if possible. Ground floor rooms are pet-friendly, and we did hear s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvgovteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    564
    139
    42
    22
See reviews for
428
768
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Not only is this place pet friendly, the location is excellent. Just off of Cannery Row, all of four blocks from the Aquarium. Beautiful location for easy walks in any direction. Dog was accepted with open arms, and the staff was just outstanding. Michele at the Front Desk is great and very helpful.

Fireplace in the room was a wonderful addition, bed was super comfortable. Pillows were a big too stuffed for my own comfort, but my husband loved them. Didn't eat breakfast here, but wish we had, it smelled delicious.

This is a great place to stay while you enjoy the sights, tastes and sounds of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked this hotel some days before of my long driving trip with 4 hours to cross the Mexico-USA border, plus the distance to Monterey. The hotel confirmed for two double beds room and our arrival was around 10:30 pm and tired, however I had a bad new, our room was cancealled. The cost per nigth was expensive but I reviewed the comments and convince me. The staff was cordial and tried to help but the only available room was a single bed that was added a roller bed, but no one of the beds were good. This disappointed to my family and to me. I had to call to the booking company and the process was during one hour more. Finally, I avoided the double payment. We don`t taked any breakfast during the two days.
Room was espacious but with car noises at morning. Next time, I will be in other better and close hotel, a little more expensive but with less problems.

Room Tip: After booking, call to the hotel to secure the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our one night stay was fabulous for the $$! I let the girl at the desk pick our room for us. We got a king bed, with a partial view of Monterey Bay and sunrise in the morning! Small balcony overlooked a lovely courtyard! Big jacuzzi tub with double shower heads!! The room was spacious and clean! Parking is underground, with plenty of luggage carts and 2 elevators! The hotel is located on Foam Street, just 2 blocks to Cannery Row with all the shopping, restaurants and the Bay! Lovely town, I would live there! We had an extremely long day & evening out, so we just ordered a pizza for a late nite dinner at a place across the street. They walked it over to us!! Breakfast was free in the morning and included everything from hot to cold, just wonderful!

Room Tip: This hotel was very quiet, I would think any room would be fine. Foam street was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WANDERLUSTinME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for only one night, but wish we could stay longer. Room is spacious with a nice bay window. Perfect place to snuggle with a cup of coffee and a book in hand. Fireplace was a nice touch though we didn't light it up. The street which the inn is on is quiet, with nothing much to see, but it's within walking distance to the Monterey Aquarium and there are lots to explore there. Breakfast provided was good though the seating was limited. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWIlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Let me start off by saying that I booked this hotel after all the rave reviews on this website but we were disappointed. This hotel is not good for families with toddlers as none of their rooms have microwaves. We had to walk downstairs to the dining area to heat milk for our toddler.Rooms were big and spacious but pretty old and rundown.Bathroom floors were very cold.The staff was cordial, not as great as mentioned in these reviews. The fireplace was the only good feature which is available in other hotels too. Breakfast was ok. The dining area was very cramped and crowded and the tables didn't match the chairs thus making it uncomfortable to sit and eat. We didn't get any wine or cookies as mentioned in these reviews. Overall I would not recommend this place as there are better hotels out there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
To begin, I want to thank this reviewer for sharing their feedback regarding their recent stay. Honest comments from our guests, either received directly or through their posts on TripAdvisor, are very important to me as they provide the best possible insight into how our services are being received. Feedback like this also gives us our best chance to make improvements, and we are always grateful for such an opportunity.
I would like to thank this reviewer, as well, for their high ranking of our location – within very easy walking distance to Cannery Row and other great attractions – and for their kind words regarding their room’s fireplace. All of our rooms feature an easily lit gas-burning fireplace, a feature for which many other hotels in the area charge a premium. We provide this complimentary, as well as breakfast in the mornings, a wine and cheese reception in the evenings, and wireless internet all day. I am sorry to hear that this guest missed the evening reception, and I will work with the front desk to make sure the times for that event are better communicated in the future.
Additionally, we are in the process of a comprehensive update of the hotel; we have already replaced the mattress sets, light fixtures in the rooms, patio furniture, bathroom mirrors, guestroom desk chairs, and installed 42”, flat-screen televisions above the fireplaces. Beginning last week, we began installing new guestroom night stands, headboards, lounge chairs, coffee tables, dressers, drapes, and décor – and in the process we will be repainting and giving an overall refresh to the rooms. We anticipate having all of these renovation completed by mid-February.

Regarding this guest’s comment about the microwaves; for the most part we do not have them in any of our rooms. There is a microwave in the kitchen attached to the lobby, of which our staff is happy to help facilitate the use. In addition, however, two of our suites do have microwaves, as they are generally used by families or by guests with extended stays. These suites are available for anyone to reservation, of course, but have been particularly well received by those guests traveling with children.
I do regret that the lack of a microwave in this guest’s room was the detail which prevented them from enjoying their stay. It is our mission to provide a wonderful Monterey experience for all of our guests, but we understand that some travelers need certain amenities for their stay to be a success, and we are sorry that in this instance we were unable to help.

Should any guest wish to speak with our managers directly regarding a question or concern, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We consider comments from all of our guests – both current and future – to be genuinely valuable, and we welcome all feedback.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Our room is nice- clean, balcony, fireplace, cookies & wine in the room upon arrival. Complimentary wine & cheese reception in the lobby area each evening, very helpful front desk staff. Walking distance from aquarium & Cannery Row. Dog-friendly & underground parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgo987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing