We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient location, great room, awesome value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
277 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great room, awesome value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a room on the 3rd floor and it was great. It had cathedral ceiling, a gas fireplace and even a deck. The kingsize bed was extremely comfortable and seemed to have an endless supply of pillows, which is always a plus! I found even the breakfast enjoyable and never crowded. My only disappointment was with the $13 per day parking fee, as it was never mentioned ahead of time. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel if you are taking in Monterey.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    546
    138
    40
    22
See reviews for
413
750
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were in town for the Big Sur Half Marathon and the value of this hotel was insurmountable. We had a wonderful weekend! The location was close to the race route. We enjoyed being able to walk everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CSHERNANDEZ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've learned that in Monterey, when we find a great place, whether it be a restaurant or a hotel, we should stick with it every time we go back. We stayed at BW Victorian Inn few years ago and remember that it was really nice. Unfortunately, since then, we have stayed in way too many hotels with unacceptable standards in service and quality. We decided to return to the Victorian Inn, and it was as nice as I'd remembered, and the service level was impeccable. The room was spacious and well maintained, and the fire place was definitely a bonus, esp. great for a cooler night like the night we'd arrived. The location was absolutely perfect being that it was only a block away from Cannery Row, and although our room was facing the street, it was absolutely quiet. We'll definitely return to BW Victorian Inn whenever we're in Monterey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0betrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila area
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here during our family vacation in California. There are not many hotels in Monterey that allow 5 to a room. Me were very happy with the hotel, the suite's layout and the location was great for walking anywhere in town. They also offer a breakfast that is satisfactory for most.
We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SteveMurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked this hotel because it seemd convenient to fisherman's warf, Cannery Row, The Aquarium and the 17 mile drive. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was fantastic and everything was within walking distance. We loved it. The 17 mile drive was spectacular. Do not miss it. This was a great start to our California vacation. P.S. - the staff were terrific. everyone was friendly and more than helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternalh0neym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love this place! It's our little get-away whenever we come to Monterey; which is usually 2-3 tines a year. We have been coming here for years. We always get a third floor room which allows you a peek of the ocean. The hotel has been very generous in giving us a bottle of wine, chocolates, and a welcome back card on nearly every arrival! The rooms all have gas fireplaces. This last time we were given the corner room that not only had enough room for entertaining but the shower/tub combo had a jetted tub and dual shower heads.

We enjoy the breakfast provided and have met some very nice people over the years. Wine and cheese along with fruit in the afternoon is always lovely. We have our favorite places we like to eat..... Vivolo's Chowder House in Pacific Grove, The Sea Harvest right down the street, and The Whaling Station by Cannery Row. There are many others nearby that are just as wonderful. Great area for walking and taking in the sights. Reservations are easily made by the front desk staff for any place you which to dine. There is also a secluded jacuzzi in the court yard which has been a great treat to use. We will being returning for a visit in January, I'm sure:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room I. The back w/a peek of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcolgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing