We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just as advertised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just as advertised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked this hotel because it seemd convenient to fisherman's warf, Cannery Row, The Aquarium and the 17 mile drive. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was fantastic and everything was within walking distance. We loved it. The 17 mile drive was spectacular. Do not miss it. This was a great start to our California vacation. P.S. - the staff were terrific. everyone was friendly and more than helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternalh0neym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    554
    139
    41
    22
See reviews for
423
757
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love this place! It's our little get-away whenever we come to Monterey; which is usually 2-3 tines a year. We have been coming here for years. We always get a third floor room which allows you a peek of the ocean. The hotel has been very generous in giving us a bottle of wine, chocolates, and a welcome back card on nearly every arrival! The rooms all have gas fireplaces. This last time we were given the corner room that not only had enough room for entertaining but the shower/tub combo had a jetted tub and dual shower heads.

We enjoy the breakfast provided and have met some very nice people over the years. Wine and cheese along with fruit in the afternoon is always lovely. We have our favorite places we like to eat..... Vivolo's Chowder House in Pacific Grove, The Sea Harvest right down the street, and The Whaling Station by Cannery Row. There are many others nearby that are just as wonderful. Great area for walking and taking in the sights. Reservations are easily made by the front desk staff for any place you which to dine. There is also a secluded jacuzzi in the court yard which has been a great treat to use. We will being returning for a visit in January, I'm sure:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room I. The back w/a peek of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcolgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came to Monterey for a conference at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa (which did not offer the gov't rate) - so we found this little Best Western gem close by. It was just a half a block over and 1 block down to the MPH&S conference hotel, which also has a lovel terrace to enjoy the bay and welcomes non-hotel guests.

So the Best Western was a great find -- basic chain hotel with some special amenities. The breakfast with eggs, sausage, toasts, etc. was a real plus. Also, so wonderful to come back in the evening light up the gas fireplace and enjoy the big flat screen TV. The front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

Close to the tourist area of Cannery Row - and the less touristy area around the corner. Had a great night with colleagues playing darts at The Bulldog British Pub, 611 Lighthouse Ave. Also good sushi at Crystal Fish, 514 Lighthouse Ave.

Oh yea -- and the Barking Sea Lions --- I love them, but I am sure there are those who would be annoyed to stay somewhere nearer to the water where you hear them bark all night. This hotel is away from the barking sea lions....

Room Tip: Room 207 is back from the street - yet has a view between the buildings -- I could even glimpse the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueFoch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a family road trip up the west coast and our first impression was not that great. We checked in early evening and asked the front desk for two recommendations- one for dinner that night and also for a whale watching tour the next day. We were quite disappointed that the only recommendations they provided us with (for both the dinner and tour) were places that they had discount coupons to and where not necessarily the nicest in town. In fact the "restaurant" they recommended could be called a take away place at best.
We also had further trouble with the front desk staff upon check out. When we went to our car (parked in the hotel car park) we found that we had a "parking fine" even though we had paid for parking with the hotel. After probably 20 mins of discussions with the front desk it was all sorted but it was not a great way to start the morning. Turns out we were meant to display some permit or ticket in our car window to show that we were registered guests but we were never told about this when we checked in.
Overall, it was a nice and quiet location, an easy walk to the water and the restaurants / shops of cannery row. The rooms were quite large and very clean. We did pay a minimal amount extra for a courtyard or garden view. I wouldn't bother with this as the "garden" was a few shrubs.
If you are new to the area and are looking for a place that can help you get around town I would not recommend this hotel, but if you are simply looking for a clean and average room I would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Monterey was our stop on way back to LA from San Fransisco. Our room was on the top floor (3rd, i think) and it was super spacious. It had a working fire place and the tub had jets so I had a wonderful, relaxing bath after a long drive! Sure the entire place is a little outdated (it is Victorian style after all) but we found everything to clean and in working condition. When we entered our room, the heat was already on so the room was cozy and warm for us! Another great feature was the continental breakfast which was really a full blown breakfast (french toast, eggs, cereals, home made juices, and more) and it is served in this beautiful dining room/lounge room that gave you the feel of being in a B&B. We didnt get to really "see" Monterey bc we were just driving by, but the hotel seems a close walk from Cannery Row. We will def be back! My husband actually liked this room better than our VERY expensive and chic San Francisco boutique hotel in Union Square (The Adagio, which we LOVE)!

Room Tip: Top floor is always quieter, nice view, balcony. Ask for fire place room and jet tub if you like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights to enjoy the Monterey peninsula etc. and what a great hidden place it was. First off the negatives: the place was a little confusing at first to find the room since the rooms aren't all connected. It seemed a little strange to have to use my room key to get in the main part of the hotel from my room. Also I stayed in one of the outer buildings and people could walk from the street to any of the rooms not in the main part of the hotel which seemed a little unsafe but having said that it was in a nice part of Monterey so crime I'm sure is low. Also there is a parking fee of $13 a day but considering you have to pay to park anywhere in the area it wasn't to bad and you can park there on the last day till 4P.M. Now the positives about the place was that almost every room had a balcony and mine was facing onto Foam St. with a little view of the water. Even with the street being busy I couldn't hear the traffic at all throughout the night. I surprised to see a fireplace (easy to use) in my room which was a great edition to have. The breakfast was the great service that all Best Western's have. It was in the main part of the hotel which made you feel like you were in a old Victorian home. The staff was very friendly and made me feel very welcome I would stay here again since almost all the hotels in the area cost upwards to $1,000 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing