We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
839 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,326 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights in the middle of September. The first thing that we noticed when we checked in was how helpful the staff was. They went out of their way for us.

The locations great, its two blocks away from Cannery Row, so we were able to leave our car at the hotel and walk to it.

The breakfast was great. I wish that some of the other "free breakfasts" that we had on our California trip were half as good as this.

The rooms are a little dated, but thats one of the things that makes this hotel so charming.

Overall it was a good stay and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    629
    149
    50
    25
See reviews for
478
868
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When travelling, I prefer modern decor and amenities and newer room styles. It seems that everywhere in the Monterey and Carmel area is going for the " Victorian" vibe, which does lend it self to being unique and traditional, but I feel the value provided at this hotel was just okay.

Found the wine reception to be of very low quality, breakfast was only marginally better. Not a lot of tables available at times during breakfast hours.

Location is great and Monterey does offer cute shops for browsing, it is a little touristy though.

Rooms are " charming", the fireplace is a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay, our first with a our toddler, and service was consistent with both. This is an older hotel, but well maintained, and convenient to Cannery Row, fisherman's wharf & downtown Monterey. We were able to walk to all those areas with no problem. There are also lots of restaurants within walking distance (we found a great family-owned hole-in-a-wall Mediterranean place about two blocks away). Our room was clean & spacious complete with fireplace & flat screen tv. We enjoyed the afternoon wine & cheese reception as well as the continental breakfast in their dining area which reminded us of our trip to Europe. We also received a complimentary bottle if wine & chocolates in our room upon arrival as return customers, which was a nice surprise! Parking is underground but felt secure, & wi-fi is sufficient. Great little hotel & we always enjoy our stay here when we visit the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ling K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, OH
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited Monterey just over a week ago and stayed at the Best Western Victorian and selected this location hoping to be within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and the Aquarium. What we found was that we were not only close to those venues, but also right in the heart of great shopping and many quality restaurants. The room was very nice, and we decided on a third floor unit which had a balcony with a view of the ocean. The only negative was that the room and other hotel areas were set to about 75 degrees, which was a bit warm to us. September and October are the warmest months in Monterey, and we experienced daily highs in the mid 60's to low 70's for the week. Morning lows were in the mid 50's. With this in mind, the units air conditioning is to let outside air in (rooms only have heaters).

The waterfront was two blocks away, and we walked there each morning from the hotel after first having the free breakfast at the Best Western. Breakfast included french toast, eggs, sausage links, breads, and fruit along with coffee and juice. After exploring Monterey, we would return to the hotel for the free wine reception each afternoon. Parking is a premium in Monterey, so we liked the fact that once we parked at the hotel, that we did not need to drive many places. Hotel parking was a flat daily rate with elevator access to the rooms directly from the garage which was very convenient.

While at this hotel, be sure to visit the Pierce winery tasting room (1/2 block away) which had some of the finest wine we have found in California. The $5 fee is waived with purchase. The other gem is the Bargetto winery tasing room at Fisherman's Wharf which is 3 blocks away. They have a high variety of fine wines with very helpful & friendly staff.

Other attractions within walking distance were Monterey Aquarium (4 blocks), marina (4 blocks), cannery row shops (2 blocks), and at least 10 restaurants within 4 blocks. It is a bit hilly, so wear good walking shoes. When we return to Monterey, we will definitely stay at the Best Western Victorian Inn!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have lofted ceilings and several have an unadvertized view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

this hotel was great,breakfast in the am,wine and cheese in the afternoon,you are 2 minute walk from cannery row and about 10 minute walk to fishermans wharf,just leave your vehicle at the hotel and enjoy walking,very clean hotel,will stay there again definitely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froglover071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel was lovely and well located. Even though it was off the main drag (Cannery Row) it was only a block or three minute walk from the heart of town. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. It is an older hotel, clean and well maintained, but it's definitely not luxurious. My husband and I both felt that Monterey was beautiful but overrated, and hotels kind of overpriced for the level of luxury that you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmommy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Once again... Michele Baughman, Ryan and the crew have exceeded our expectations. I wrote to Michele, with only a day or two in advance of our stay, on a busy, event filled weekend in Monterey, and she managed to get us an awesome room, with a view of Monterey Bay at a very reasonable price. Michele did all this from home on her day off. Bravo, Michele!

The new front desk clerk, Ryan, is very friendly, helpful and pleasant. He will check you in quickly and efficiently without making you feel rushed. He always has a minute to socialize with you or give you a awesome recommendation for dinner or entertainment.

We have always had a pleasant stay at Victorian Inn...Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views of Monterey Bay...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM-ManagerResponse, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for posting your great tip and awesome review of our staff. We are very lucky to have them and will be sure to pass along your kind comments. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing