We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2010

While benefitting from a delightful location and lovely facilities, it is really the staff that elevates this property to Fantastic. Every single person from the valet to the banquet staff was kind, helpful and friendly. I felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,516 - 4,522 of 5,222 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

Perfect location. Ideal for Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Probably the best hotel of our Calif road trip. We had slightly cheaper room without a sea view but was excellent, quiet and comfortable - just used the room as a base and not worth extra $100 per night for sea view. Staff were helpful and friendly and it's great that valet parking was including in the cost (this is often not the case!). Had excellent waiter called Damien at breakfast and the following morning he took the trouble to come over and say good morning when we were seated on the other side of the restaurant. Had a wedding anniversary meal in the main restaurant - very pleasant - lovely views across the bay but fairly pricey. Would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anderida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Every aspect of the visit was first rate. Staff universally went the extra mile to ensure stay was pleasant. This is my 20th visit to the Monterey area, and it was the best. The chef did a superb job for our class dinner, serving over 90 people in record time with great food. The overall professionalism of everyone connected to the hotel was impressive. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our trip this past weekend to Monterey was absolutely fabulous due to our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. My husband and I had plans to go to Monterey to complete a dive certification course.
We were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff at the hotel who gave us a full description of the hotel's features and the surrounding area. Our room was spectacular complete with exceptional views, beautiful furnishings and every imaginable amenity.

We were pleased to discover that the checkout dive location was less than a minute walk from the hotel. In-between dives we retreated to our gorgeous and inviting hotel to de-thaw in the roof-top hot tub while drinking green tea and fresh fruit graciously provided by the spa. We felt completely spoiled as we looked down on the beach and our chilly class mates from the 5th floor while soaking in the hot tub. At the end of the day we returned to the hotel to enjoy a beer on our veranda, followed by a delicious meal at Schooners Restaurant on the property. The food and service were exceptional! Finally we would return to the hot tub and enjoy champagne under the stars which made for a deep restful sleep in our luxurious bed. We've traveled the world and stayed in many lovely places and The Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa certainly ranks among them as one of the finest. Our overall experience was top notch and highly recommended. The Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa will definitely be our destination for our next visit to Monterey!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intoowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Although the weather was not the best (cloudy, fog most of each day) the hotel was terrific! Rooms, staff, restaurant. Especially liked the rate (20% off for 3-nights) and the automatic upgrade without having to ask. Beautiful view of the bay with crashing waves from our room. A top hotel. After staying at some 'colonials' we favor the 'modern'. You cannot go wrong with the Monterey PLaza and everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was unsure when I made the reservations if the price was going to be worth it. Once I arrive, the staff made all the difference compared to another Hotel. I will stay there from now on whenever I visit Monterey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guard1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

On a Friday afternoon, we checked in Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa for the weekend. We originally booked a room with the Cannery Row view, and upgraded to an ocean view room with balcony with an additional fee ($75 dollars per night). I was not impressed with the ocean-view room. The balcony was small, and the ocean view was good but not breath-taking. However, I could see as well as hear the gentle crashing waves and the seabirds and the seals, which provided a very relaxing background noise. The room itself was clean and spacious.

The location of the hotel is great; it's located on Cannery Row, about a 10-minute walk to the Aquarium and 15-minute walk to the Fisherman's Wharf. MPS has an additional mandatory hotel fee ($25 dollars a day), which covers free valet parking (I think). The valet service is great and efficient. There is also free wireless internet service in the room too.

On Saturday a fire broke out in one of the mechanic rooms in the hotel, and it caused part of the hotel to be shut down and the entire block was closed as well. We were not allowed to go back to our room for hours, and it was truly inconvenient. However, the hotel staff were calm and friendly, and they offered snacks and complimentary drinks in the lobby for the guests. After hours of waiting, I was finally able to track down someone to take us back to our room to grab some clothes to change for dinner. Lyle, who took us back to our room, was very nice and patient. Later that night, we received an apology note from the management for the inconvenience.

Overall, I would say that our stay was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceirela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $243 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing