We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a great spot on Cannery Row”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Andover MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great spot on Cannery Row”
Reviewed September 3, 2006

A friend recommended the Monterey Plaza and I'm glad she did. We had a wonderful stay. She told us to get an ocean view room and it was worth it. We could watch sea otters from our room. I do not recommend the rooms with the patios - it was too chilly to sit outside in the evenings and we were on the go all day. A great centrally located hotel on Cannery Row - we walked to dinner every night; walked to bike rentals and kayaks, and the Aquarium. Couldn't have been easier. Car parking was $18/night (not bad, considering). We ate breakfast in the hotel and learned that we could do just fine with one order of an egg dish and some fruit. The portions were large, fresh and hot. I indulged in a massage and a facial and both were excellent. The massage went on for about 20 minutes more than I booked - unheard of! A great relaxing visit.

  • Liked — Bed was sooooo comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,575
    749
    212
    98
    46
See reviews for
1,361
2,140
130
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed at hotel August 16-18 2006 with my husband and 15 month daughter. We had a room overlooking Cannery Row, which was ok. I would have preferred a room overlooking the ocean, but not for another extra $200 a night.
Room: Spacious and clean. They had a mini bar which was way over priced, but expected. The bathroom was large and also super clean. The bed was huge and comfortable and although there was no air conditioning, there was a mobile one plugged into the wall.
Location: The location was absolutely great!!!! A few short walks from everywhere you want to go. It was a couple if blocks down to the Aquarium and all the shops on Cannery Row. There is also a great little green trolley that takes you to the Aquarium, Downtown Monterey, Fisherman’s Wharf and the different hotels. And surprisingly, it’s FREE. That’s about the only thing that is free, other than the beach.
Hotel: The hotel itself is great!!! It is very beautiful. The staff is great. For those reviews where they said the staff was cold and uninviting. I experienced the opposite. They were very helpful and helped with bags and even held the car door open as I was leaving the hotel. Very courteous and professional.
The extra charges were ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS! $18 EXTRA FOR PARKING A DAY. Give me a break. I paid near $350-400 for one night and they have the nerve to take $18 for parking. That’s in poor taste. Then there’s an extra $15 facility charge. Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is great, but I wouldn’t rate it a 5-star. Maybe 3 ½ or 4 stars.
All in all, I would probably stay here again just for the fact, that it is the nicest hotel that I found in that area. If I could find somewhere with the same amenities for less, than probably would not stay here.
We had breakfast at the Duck Club Grill which is located on the hotel property. Horrible food. Service was good, but I would never eat there again. My husband had the buffet and I ordered the eggs Benedict from the menu. Eggs Benedict was ok, but my husband said the buffet was terrible. The pastries were hard, the eggs looked runny and the bacon was overcooked. We wanted to try Schooners, which is also located on the property but did not get a chance. Although we went to Bubba Gumps on Cannery row. We are Bubba Gump experts, so we call ourselves; we’ve been to San Francisco, Hawaii and now Monterey. The best by far is the one in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank shalinimisri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My husband and I just got back from a one-night stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. We found the front desk clerks to be extremely polite and helpful when looking for directions and dining recommendations. The room was very nice- clean and attractively decorated. A few negative points- (as mentioned in most other reviews) the hotel is upgrading their elevators, meaning that exactly ONE elevator is available. . . . meaning waits of 5 minutes or so each time you want to go anywhere. A complaint that may have been specific only to our room, the electrical sockets were so loose that my hairdryer and curling iron kept falling out of them! Made for a frustrating morning when trying to get ready!

Hotel is within walking distance of the Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf. We were able to leave our car in the hotel's valet parking and spend the morning at the Aquarium and sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darylsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock Bc Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My wife and I recently returned to BC Canada after a 6 day trip to California and Oregon. Our stay at the Monterey Plaza for 3 nights was excellent. From the car valet service, to the 'check in,' all went extremely smoothly without any 'hassle'. The Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was overlooking Cannery Row, well furnished and equipped. Room service was a delight.
'Schooners' restaurant and Patio were excellent, as was the Duck Grill Club. The Hotel location was perfect for our stay in Monterey, close to all the attractions, within walking distance of Fishermans Wharf, and the Aquarium and a short drive from the very scenic '17 mile drive'. We would highly recommend this Hotel and Restaurants. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — No main lobby bar or waiter service. Main lobby too sterile and under utilized.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the stairs whilst the elevators are being upgraded. Don't wait for service.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Linman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

This is a great place to stay. We decided to book here after reading reviews at Expedia and checking out their website. I was very hesitant because of some of the reviews here. But, after staying there for two nights earlier this month, I can say that it was our best hotel stay during our 9 night trip.

The negative points that others have mentioned include no air conditioning, cannery row very loud at night, and cheaper rooms facing cannery row (the street) have little to no view.

We booked a cannery row room at 207/night + tax + $18 parking/day after AAA discount. We were very pleasantly surprised to have a view of the ocean from our room (room 3431)! It was facing north towards main building of the hotel as well as the ocean - absolutely beautiful. We spent most of our mornings reading by the windows.

Since the nights were cool, we didn't miss the AC. It can get quite loud at night with the birds screaming and the traffic, but I was still able to sleep comfortably.

Another highpoint was the jacuzzi at the spa. We just used the jacuzzi at 6 pm one evening. It is located on the top floor facing the ocean - there is a $15 facility fee per person to use the jacuzzi, but they didn't charge us because we came late in the day.

The rooms and hotel in general are beautiful. We got very good service from all the staff.

The only low point was the restaurant, but we did enjoy the view.

In general we were very happy with our stay here.

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Disliked — Noise from the street, food quality at restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can afford it, get a room with an ocean view
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel July 31st - August 2nd. The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect. Our room had an incredible ocean view though at night the waves hitting against the building were quite loud making it difficult to sleep at night. We enjoyed eating dinner at Schooners (in the hotel) - good food and service. The staff is somewhat courteous, however, the female concierge was abrupt and seemed annoyed that we were asking her questions/dinner recommendations. I had better luck asking the front desk for dinner recommendations. We spent a morning at the aquarium, which is a short walking distance from the hotel. We recommend that you purchase your aquarium tickets at the hotel, so you don't have to wait in line and the tickets are valid for two days - well worth visiting. We spent a day at Carmel and did the 17-mile scenic drive. We felt the 17-mile drive is over-rated (probably b/c we drove the Pacific Coast Highway, which is spectacular in comparison to the 17-mile drive). Also, Cannery Row has typical touristy shops, which we dislike! Our visit to Carmel was great and had better shops! We visited Chateau Julien Winery in Carmel and had an excellent tour of the vineyards (which was very educational) along with great wine tasting (all complimentary). We suggest that you bring the pamphlet of the vineyard, which is provided by the hotel, for complimentary souvenir wine glasses that are beautifully monogrammed. We also had lunch at Earthbound (organic market) down the street from the vineyard. We brought a bottle of wine, which we purchased at the winery and enjoyed a delicious lunch at Earthbound while sitting on their picnic table overlooking the garden. We really enjoyed staying at the hotel and would highly recommend it. The few negatives include the concierge, only one working elevator, rough towels, and TV volume (goes up making the TV volume too high and down making it inaudible at times). When we checked out of the hotel we overheard another guest complain about the TV volume as well. Also, there is no safe in the room - have to go to the front desk to leave items in the safe. We visited during a cool time so having no AC in the room did not bother us, however, in warmer climates it may be uncomfortable and stuffy. The wood work in the entrance hall of the hotel is beautiful and the exterior is well maintained. The hotel guest bathroom by the restaurant is luxurious with fresh hand towels available - nice touch (rather than papertowels). Overall, we truly enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel minus the concierge.

  • Liked — The hotel and its location.
  • Disliked — The concierge.
  • Tips/Secrets — Purchase aquarium tickets at the hotel and visit Carmel.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ltucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

My husband and I spent one night here in July and loved it. The rooms are beautiful, updated with very comfortable beds. We had an ocean view room in the main building and were not disappointed. We had a small terrace with 2 chairs which overlooked the bay and the courtyard with the dolphin fountains. The staff is very courteous, friendly and helpfull. It is located on Cannery Row which has many shops and restaurants (we dined at Bubba Gumps Shrimp Co. which has great food and spectacular views). It is also just down the street from the Monterey Bay Aquarium which is a must see, especially if you have kids. Also, just a short drive from the "17 Mile Drive".

Overall a wonderful hotel in a great location. Would definitely return here!

  • Liked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — If rooms are sold out thru hotel directly, try expedia
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1frequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing