We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, really nice... we will return!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed here for an evening with my husband. The hotel is located at the end of Cannery Row, right next to the Chart House Restaurant. We walked to the Aquarium (10 minute leisurely stroll) and along Cannery Row the first night and enjoyed the seaside view.

We really enjoyed our stay. The service was very good, from the valet parking team to the check-in desk to the housekeeping staff. We had an inland view room but if you went downstairs the hotel had an unlimited view of the ocean. I had an massage at the spa and it was excellent! The room was large, airy, looked new and super clean. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,736 - 4,742 of 5,257 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2009

Not the newest hotel. Nice size room. Friendly staff.
Paid $199/night and then the upgrade of $75 on top to get seaview.
Have to say that the Valet parking + free (slow) internet and free breakfast was included in the $75 upgrade. Expensive hotel, but almost placed on the harbor front. Walking distance is only 5 minutes.
From balkony we could hear the Sealions and see the eastern part of Monterey bay.
Breakfast was excellent, Chef preparing omlete, good choices of cereals.
We missed the baked waffels, and bread.
I would not stay here next time as you very nearby had a half priced hotel.
During our stay a thunderstorm passed Monterey, water was dripping into the hotel all over. Power went out for almost 20 hours in the block around the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOOOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The Staff is amazing. They took care of everything. The food in the Duck Club was outstanding, The Spa was clean, I felt relaxed as soon as I walked in. I can not say enough good things about the hotel and especially about the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvrvgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We went for a very short getaway for our anniversary. We received a partial ocean view room upgrade which was relaxing, with the crashing waves out our windows we slept like drugged babies. I had only mentioned while making the reservation it was our anniversary and everyone we spoke with congratulated us. We also took advantage of the spa treatment, we received massages from Felipa and Pauline thank you ladies, in a shared room. It was nice to see my girlfriend relaxing while getting her massage. After that we slipped into the roof top hot tubs and took in the bay views. Watching the frollicking ocean life below made the hours of relaxation slip by. With Cannery Row only steps away we had whatever our hearts desired. Everyone was helpful, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Thank you also to both Becca's and Martha

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneBigSur_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was lovely. We had an oceanview balcony guestroom. We had a very nice and relaxing getaway. You feel like your on the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSBBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Accommodations were all terific. Staff were helpful and curtious. Conference meals were delisious and served in a scenic outdoor setting and timely.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterfly048_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was one of the many hotels we stayed in on our way to Monterey from LA and by far was one of the best. Vey lovely and nice and close to Canney Row and seemed like it was the best one in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,025 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $225 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing