We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 8, 2009

The hotel, location and the room was very nice. We booked the cannery row view room, it was nice but the room had no A/C which we thought was strange,(even Motel 6 has A/C) so the room got to be quite stuffy and hot.
The coffee maker and quality of the coffe is probably the worst I have ever drank as well.
The spa/fitness center was beautiful and the staff were very friendly.
In a nutshell, it was nice but for the money we were expecting a little more.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janebob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHS_Manager, Hotel Manager at Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2009

Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Plaza. Regarding your comment on the air conditioning, we are currently installing of a brand new state-of-the-art heating and cooling system, which will provide air conditioning to all guestrooms. Half of the project is complete and we expect to have all guestrooms air conditioned by the end of June 2009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,703 - 4,709 of 5,136 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2009

We've stayed at the Monterey Plaza multiple times (since at least 1996 and at least once per year) since we have family in Monterey and occasional business. We've tried other places periodically but always end up going back to the Plaza. It's more expensive than many other facilities in the area, but it's worth it if you shop the price and time of your stay, e.g., weekdays vs. weekends, non-holidays. Like many resorts, room service can be very expensive, so eat out. It IS the Monterey peninsula. It's centrally located to Cannery Row and the Aquarium and the staff is terrific. Remember to ask for a room on the ocean side with a balcony; these rooms are a bit larger. The rooms in the back can be smallish. The only caveat is that the sea lions can keep you up at night, but that's part of the charm and you won't hear them if you close the sliding doors/windows.
I. Loh

Stayed: November 2008
Thank ikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We chose to stay at this hotel after spending the night at their sister location - The Bodega Bay Inn and Spa - which was excellent.

We telephoned our reservation through epedia.com and had requested 2 queen beds - featherless.

When we arrived at the hotel - it was dark and raining, - we had not been advised the entrance was under construction and drove round for a while to locate the temporary entrance.

At check in we were told that the hotel had not been advised we required 2 beds - they would have to change the quilts etc - if we could just walk around the hotel whilst they did this?

It took from 6-10pm, 4 phone calls and 3 maid visits for this to finally take place!

The hotel is huge - and spread out so alot of walking and stairs are required inside to get from A to B.

In this huge hotel there was only one small cafe style dining area and non-descript bar offering average products.

We did have 2 spa treatments - which were average, The head concierge was atrocious offhand in manner, and practically ignored us.

The hotel had no atmosphere - and our two night stay ended up costing us $1200 + for bed/breakfast and two spa treatments,

My concern at check-out was that room service had charged us for the delivery of hot water - which they charged as tea at $13.00, when we queried this at reception we were told they would have to check with room service - left us standing there whilst they spoke to someone - and were VERY reluctant to adjust this $13.00 error.

In this economy, anyone who is still trying to support the leisure industry should be honored and taken care of. When you promote yourself as a High rated spa location your guests should feel it.

Best employee experience: Dillon, Bellboy
Concierge

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank frequenttravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Thanksgiving 2008 was my third stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. I was prepared for some letdown in services as holidays are difficult with large numbers of dining guests and staff wanting to be with families. However, it was an even better stay than the last.

Typical day

I took one of the waterfront rooms at the west end of the hotel. The view is almost parallel to the shoreline , offering a view of the bay and the surf on the rocks. Room was filled with the sound of surf all night. Room is spotless, thoughtfully appointed and quiet.

The spa has a gym full of great equipment, great staff and a magnificent view of the bay. Family guests who travel well are wowed.

Coffee on the new facilty on the main deck. Great (Pete's) coffee , baked goods , healthy stuff ( fruit and yogurt). Best of all enjoying it on the deck in the morning sun.

I was with family for most of the meals other than breakfast . However, from previous experiences the food is excellent and service great.

One of the wonders is how these hotels ( Woodside Group) manage to maintain such a high level of care for their customers from the arrival in the valet dropoff to the last wave goodbye. Staff was great at providing turn by turn directions and maps to get to destinations in the City of Monterey.

Location of the hotel is great. Very close to everything but not in the middle of the congestion.

Hot tip - the little restaurant under the pier for a seafood lunch overlooking the harbor.

Have recommended the hotel to several friends who have later thanked me for the recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fly4vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed there for a seminar and liked it quite well. Friendly stuff, nicely decorated room with good room service, great views of the sea (had no sea view room but you can see it from many other spots in the hotel), calm, nothing to complain about. Stayed at the end of my trip one night at the Intercontinental and cannot say which one was better. Interconti might be a bit more stylish with newer rooms, but staff at Plaza seemed less 'important'.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
December 2008
What a great place! Service was excellent. View was fabulous. Room was fanastic. Bed was great. Hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Monterey Plaza. We stayed in the ocean view room with balcony and were in luck with clear if not cold weather both days.

I would highly recommend the hotel spa - beautiful views from the outdoor hot tubs and lounge areas and a great way to start a getaway with a massage. The rooms are very well appointed including spa bathrobes, an MP3 audio player, binoculars to watch harbor seals, a comfy bed and chaise longe and chair outside. We also enjoyed breakfast in the Duck Club Grill - we had a good and funny waiter and really enjoyed our breakfast (bagel and locks with all the trimmings and waffle with fresh fruit). Also, two sides of the dining room offered awesome bay views.

Our only major complaint was that there was a wedding going on on the night of our stay and the front desk decided to put us in a room directly over the banquet room where we were able to hear the music playing. You could also hear a lot of the plaza level noise as people walked around. If we were staying for more than one night, I probably would have asked for another room. Next time I'll ask for a room away from the banquets and on a higher floor.

Also on a side note (perhaps another complaint), on weekends they seem to be pretty busy as we arrived at 2pm and there weren't any rooms available, even though we had made spa appts at 3:30pm and had requested an earlier check-in. We were told that rooms were guaranteed by 4pm and that they would call us when the room became avail. And wouldn't you know it, the room was avail about 20 minutes later just as I was changed into my robe for the spa appt - not the best logistics coordination and unfortunately was the hotel's first impression on us.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GalInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
2.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $270 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched dramatically on historic beachfront property above the crashing surf of the Pacific, Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa delights its guests with classic, California coastal experiences animated by an irresistible spirit of conviviality and play. Here you’ll be welcomed with warm hospitality and elegantly-appointed guest rooms with thoughtful extras and luxury touches. From our chef-driven oceanfront restaurant, award-winning rooftop luxury spa and prime location steps from charming Cannery Row, our elegant oceanfront hotel is the centerpiece of Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing